A Cruel Truth

I weighed myself Friday, felt discouraged, and put away my scale until at least next week or maybe later if I can hold off longer.  I felt discouraged because I’ve only lost about 5 lbs in over a month and even though I recognize the small progress I can’t help but dwell on what I’m doing wrong.  Today I realized part of what is holding me back from actually accomplishing my goals: honesty.

This word describes what is missing from my relationship with myself and I think this has always been a contributor to my weight gain.  I think sometimes the lies we tell ourselves are the ones that can hold us back the most from achieving our goals.  I tell myself I’m doing everything right, eating right, staying active, avoiding sugar, doing all the right things that should lead to weight loss; however this is not the truth.

Here is the truth, both for myself and any readers out there.  I am trying to avoid sugar but still sneaking chocolate, eating better but could still cut down on snacking, and staying active involves working out sporadically when I feel like it, even then it’s like 10 minutes of basics and stretching.  Sometimes it’s so easy to tell small lies, “a few pieces of chocolate won’t hurt”, “I’ll work out tomorrow”, “I went shopping, walking around the store, that’s like a workout”, “one more snack before bed won’t be bad”…etc., etc.  The list goes on and on.

Now I know what I’ve been doing wrong and actually have it in writing, which makes it more difficult to hide.  I guess that since the truth is out the next question is where to go from here.

Step 1:  Get the Christmas candy out of sight or probably better yet out of the house-not much here but it needs to go

Step 2:  Continue to track eating during the day.  I’ve been using an app called Fooducate, (which I highly recommend) but I need to apply my new found honesty here as well tracking on both the good days and the bad days, and entering the bad foods as well as the good.

Step 3:  Get active!  I’ve read so many articles about how to start a routine, reasons to work out in the morning, how to form a habit but now I need to apply this vast range of knowledge.  Just put an alarm into my phone for a set workout time in the morning, plus printing out a calendar for my star chart.  I was most consistent working out was when I kept a calendar on my door and marked each day I worked out with a gold star, simple and a bit cheesy but it worked for me.

Now that the truth is out I will move forward starting to make changes and promise full disclosure to myself in the future.

8 comments

  1. Simone · January 24, 2015

    Everyone who’s trying to change their diet goes through this phase I believe. I really hope you stick it out 🙂 You CAN do it !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ndunleavy · January 4, 2015

    Good for you on resolving to be more honest! I have also resolved to be more honest with myself, for both my weight and career goals. In fact, I’ve started a blog as part of my commitment to honesty, where I write about my goals as a way to stay accountable to my readers to achieve success. Having just had a second baby, I am finding the t25 program is a great way to ease my way back into working out and is easy to fit into my hectic routine. Knowing that my readers will want to hear about my “after” helps keep me motivated too. Good luck!

    Like

    • daisy9979 · January 5, 2015

      I’ve heard good things about the t25 program so I might have to check that out because right now getting into a regular work out routine is my biggest struggle. I agree that honesty and accountability is important to achieving goals. Telling my friends and family plus putting my healthy intentions into a blog definitely helps keep me motivated. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. deborahcrocker · January 4, 2015

    I agree with telishacannon77. The only thing I can see you are doing wrong is being too hard on yourself.
    Concerning chocolates, I keelp Hershey kisses in the frig just for me. They are only 22 calories each. I will eat only one for desert. Hold it in your mouth and let it melt for the most enjoyment. Thats a lot of pleasure for 22 calories. If I want another I just wait to the next meal and get another for my desert.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · January 5, 2015

      That’s a good idea with the Hershey kisses because usually a small piece of chocolate is enough to satisfy the craving. It’s weird because I’ve never been much of a sweets person but once I started trying to cut back on sugar I began craving sweets. I’m also researching some of the alternatives to satisfy cravings for certain foods. I can definitely be hard on myself, it’s the perfectionist in me 🙂 but I’m trying to cut myself some slack and the support from fellow bloggers definitely helps. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. telishacannon77 · January 4, 2015

    Keep your head up! Loosing 1-2lbs a week is healthy. So loosing 5lbs in a month is just fine! Besides, never let the scale get in the way because you could have only lost 5lbs but no telling how many overall inches. When I first started loosing weight I was obsessed with the scale, I would get on it everyday. Keep pushing it! It’s okay to make mistakes but realizing them and changing is great! It’s only the beginning! 🙂

    Like

    • daisy9979 · January 5, 2015

      I am definitely my own worst critic and even though rationally I know my weight will not disappear over night, there’s still an irrational part of my brain expecting instant results. I hope weighing in once a week will help me put less focus on my weight and more focus on how I feel. Thanks for the support! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

