Surviving a Binge and a Bad Day

We all have bad days.  Yesterday felt like a terrible day when I was in the moment but looking back I realize it really wasn’t that bad.  I skipped my workout, didn’t look for jobs, ate way too much, showed up for my hair appointment two hours late (oops, somehow got 1pm instead of 11am stuck in my head), and was pretty lazy most of the day.

I felt so guilty for eating all the food I ate yesterday.  I defaulted to old behavior but it was strange because I was aware that what I was doing wasn’t a good idea.

The problem was I didn’t care.

I fully recognized that I was having a bad day so I went to food for some kind of comfort.  Most days I’m able to rationalize myself out of poor food choices but not yesterday.  I ignored the voice telling me to go to the grocery store instead of getting take out.

I went for a crispy chicken wrap with fries and ranch plus potato skins loaded with bad for me toppings. (This did inspire me to check out healthy alternatives to potato skins that I look forward to trying)

My stomach isn’t super pleased with me for eating all that heavy food yesterday but I’m gonna keep the meals simple today and the workout intense.

The point is I survived what felt like a terrible, awful, no-good, bad day with no scars or battle wounds.  I realized that my tastes in food have changed and the old foods I loved just don’t have the same appeal.  I also realized that food is not going to solve a bad day, sometimes you just have to stick it out through the bad day and know that tomorrow will be better (and so far it is 🙂 ).


I wrote the first part this morning before I went to the gym.  I did all my usual strength training plus met my goal and did 10 minutes on the crossramp machine.

Yay!  At 8 minutes I wanted to quit but my motivation was knowing I could write about accomplishing my goal once I got home.

I also did 30 minutes on the treadmill at varying speeds and inclines, working my way up to jogging next week.  I’m considering adding in another day of light-medium cardio maybe 30-40 minutes, so I’d be doing 6 days of cardio, 3 days of strength training.

I’m only 2 weeks into working out so I don’t want to overdo it but I kind of want to push myself.  I would be curious to hear advice or feedback on this because I’ve read conflicting articles about working out too much.

I just feel like I have all this time right now, so why not really go for it?

2 comments

  1. Bubbles and Booyah · January 22, 2015

    You killed it. We all have bad days every now and then, but you pushed through. Good work, dude! *high five*
    PS: Every body is different – listen to yours and I’m sure you’ll find a happy medium that you’re comfortable with. Keep it up, girlie. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

