Saturday Workout

I took Wednesday off this week so I forced myself out of bed and into the gym on a Saturday.  Weekends don’t always feel like weekends because I’m not working but for some reason my body seemed to know it was Saturday and we should not be at the gym.

I did fine going through my weight training but once I stepped on the treadmill I found myself staring at the time.  When I looked down and saw only 3 minutes had gone by I knew getting to 30 minutes was going to be a challenge.

I found a few things that kept me going, a show I wanted to watch on TV (Best New Restaurant, those who can’t cook love to watch those who can), the girl jogging beside me (Thank you random gym stranger), and mixing up the speeds and inclines every 5-10 minutes.

It might make some people laugh but I’m still a bit scared of the treadmill, so I’m hesitant to start jogging.  I think my lack of coordination and seeing too many Youtube clips of people falling has created a fear.  Like any fear I’m learning to conquer it and today I did a bit of jogging.  It was a slow pace barely above a power walk but it was progress.

Hooray for progress!

I’m going back to the gym tomorrow because this week I’m going to try working out 6 days a week to see how it goes.  I’m trying to listen to my body and find the balance between pushing myself and pushing myself too far.  The majority of my day right now does not involve a ton of activity so I’m not worried about overdoing it.

I have an addictive personality and some who know me worry I will go too far with my desire to get healthy.  If I was working out this much with my previous eating habits it would be concerning because I was only eating one or two meals a day plus binge eating.  I think having the eating part established before I started working out was helpful.

Driving home from the gym today I was planning out what I was going to eat today because I know I’m not going to reach my goals without food.  I know my body is capable of so much more and I’m just trying to see what I can do, so I will reassure anyone with concerns that all is well.  🙂

Now it’s time to relax and enjoy the rest of the day.  It’s a cold, rainy day so I think it’s the perfect day to curl up under my heated blanket with a cup of tea and a book.

Share your thoughts...

