Mornings….

Am I a morning person?  Kind of.

Is my body up and moving around by 8AM most days?  Yes.

Am I awake and ready for human interaction?  No.

I’ve always had a desire to be a morning person, one of those people who jump out of bed in the morning declaring what a great day it’s going to be as they rise with a smile ready to take on the day.

This is not me….I am a get up and feed the cat then crawl back into bed kind of person, unfortunately once I start thinking about my day it’s impossible for me to get back to sleep.  This still doesn’t mean I’m ready to get up, so I lay in bed and read or play on my phone for 30 minutes before finally making an attempt to join the world.

I’m working out in the morning so once I’ve finally dragged myself away from the warmth of my bed I try to get dressed as quickly as possible because I know once I have shoes on there’s no turning back.  I’m following the advice of “work out in the morning before your brain figures out what you’re doing.”  Once I’m in the car I turn up Pitbull radio or rap strength training to get myself pumped up for the gym.

By the time I arrive I’m a bit more awake but still not ready to actually talk to anyone beyond a mumbled, “good morning” or a half smile when someone attempts to initiate contact.

If you encounter me too early in the morning I’m not rude it’s just early and my brain is still waking up.  I’m also prone to completely zoning out until I’m awake, which is why cardio days are my favorite.

Step on machine, turn on TV, keep legs and feet moving but strength days I have to make adjustments to the machine and try to remember how each one works. Thankfully after 2 weeks I’m getting the hang of them minimizing the thought process (except for this one stupid ab crunch machine that just makes me feel awkward when I use it, hopefully I can catch one of the trainers tomorrow to ask about it).

It helped that today the sun was shining (see featured pic), a rare occurrence in the middle of winter around here.  Most days it’s so gray it’s tough to tell if it’s actually morning.

I don’t know if I’ll ever become a real morning person but I know I like working out in the morning so I guess I’ll just have to keep faking it.

**As you can see I changed my theme back to my original theme because I like the layout better and think it’s more reflective of my personality**  Happy reading! 🙂

One comment

  1. EpicGran · January 26, 2015

    They say fake it till you make it… looks like you are getting there.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

