Filling the Time

I’m feeling so much better today, more eager to take on the world rather than hide in my bed. My anxiety is a bit troubling but I’m trying to channel it toward accomplishing something rather than building myself into a little ball of worry.  I’m keeping myself busy, just spoke with a woman this morning from the Red Cross who is helping move my volunteer application forward.  I actually had to do an interview but I passed, yay!

I would be working on a disaster action team and one of the examples she gave of what I would be doing was helping people after a house fire.  Providing support, information, and sometimes just being there, which is what I want to do in my professional life so if I can gain some experience in my personal life plus help people in the community, it’s a win-win.  🙂 The other benefit is the training I receive here I can take with me to wherever I happen to move.

I’ve been working on this post for a couple hours now because I’m a bit distracted today; however I have been able to finish my laundry, list my old TV on a community site for selling stuff, finished a letter to my sister in law (finally), and clean up my email.

I’ve done 10 minutes on the elliptical the last couple days  and it’s getting easier.  I want to quit at 8 minutes now instead of 4 so I’m going to work on increasing my time, probably just a couple minutes at a time.  I’m thinking working toward 12 minutes by the end of next week.  Started tracking everything and I did 200 minutes of cardio last week but strength training 3 days of the week.

I’m also going to go from 2 sets of 10 reps to 3 sets of 10 reps on the machines next week.  I had a list from the trainer that gave all the weights I started at and the seat settings but it was getting beat up plus I wanted something I could write when I increased my weights and also check off when I completed a set.  Being a fairly tech savvy individual I was hoping to find an app but sometimes technology does not always cater itself to my vision so I had to get creative.

IMG_5898IMG_5899

I love arts and crafts time.  It’s basically a piece of thin cardboard wrapped in duct tape with some sheets I made up stapled to it but it works for me plus I added my starting weights and seat settings onto the back.  I can check off the sets as I do them and note the weights so I can keep track of changes, the numbers above are what I did the previous session.

I’ve definitely reached the point where I’m going “all in” with working out and when I went to bed last night I actually felt excited knowing I was going to go work out tomorrow morning.  I never thought I would reach this point where I was looking forward to the gym.  My friends and family are probably getting sick of my gym obsession, although my sister-in-law was talking to me about joining a gym (which she should definitely do:) ) so maybe I’m more of an inspiration than a nuisance.

I’m in desperate need of some lunch so I hope everyone is having a great week!

2 comments

  1. athenasaxena · January 30, 2015

    such a great post, thats a great idea, i too has no organized notes when it comes on working out, il try this, such a big help, btw nice post 🙂 perhaps we could follow each other, ^^ what do you think?

    Like

    • daisy9979 · January 30, 2015

      I just started following your blog and thanks for the kind words! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

