Progress Report

I told myself I wasn’t going to do a weigh in until the end of next week (give myself enough time to get rid of all my period bloat) but it’s like a compulsion and I can’t seem to stop myself as I dig out my scale.  Hoping for the best but seeing no change I feel discouraged but as I took my shower this morning I began to think about all the times I quit, why I quit, when I quit and realized that even though I haven’t had much weight loss I’m further than I’ve been in probably a decade.

The last time I decided to work out was over the summer and I went walking a few times a week for about 2 weeks then work got crazy so I gave up.  The times before that were all about the same, 2 weeks then something happened so I quit.

Eating was the about the same.  I would place myself on a diet, which of course meant salad, chicken, veggies, and rice.  There was no cheating or exploring new foods I would just default to the foods people eat when they want to lose weight.  I restricted myself, didn’t make any plans for long-term change, so I would eventually splurge, lose all hope, and go back to my old eating habits.

Food is still a bit of a struggle but I’m working on it and turning into someone I never thought I would be, a person who cares about what she eats.  I’m researching foods and nutrition facts, trying to make sure I provide my body with what it needs rather than mindlessly eating.

I drive past a McDonalds every day.  There’s always some part of me that thinks about stopping, thinks about the foods (chicken sandwich and fries) I used to enjoy but I always keep driving.  My trick to deter me from poor food choices is to visualize the food, imagine eating it, and imagine how I would feel afterward, for some reason that’s usually enough for me to know I don’t want it.  If you had told me 2 months ago I could use visualization techniques to stop from eating fast food I would have called you crazy but it works for me.

This is my 4th week with the gym and this week alone I’ve already done 7 miles on the treadmill and should hit 12 by the end of the week.  I’m even doing a bit of jogging, well it’s more like picking up my feet a bit more and shuffling along at a fast pace but I’m going to keep trying.  I’m doing strength training 3 days a week and have increased my starting weights by about 10 pounds on almost all the machines.

I have to remind myself I’m fighting years of bad habits and a bit of poor genetics but I will be successful this time.  This morning, even though I was tired, I couldn’t come up with an excuse to not work out plus I didn’t go yesterday so I actually kind of wanted to go today (crazy I know).  Even though I’m about 3 workouts from the 21 days to make a habit I think I’m already there because I’m questioning it less and just know it’s what I do, I work out 🙂

Blogging really helps keep me on track because I wouldn’t have much to write about if I sat on the couch all day so I keep moving and continue to appreciate all the support and advice from fellow bloggers, readers, friends, and family.  You all help keep me going.

Share your thoughts...

