Back on Track

We all get derailed from time to time, facing periods where motivation becomes nonexistent, and curling up in bed away from the rest of the world seems like the best option but hopefully these times are fleeting lasting no more than a couple days before you pull yourself up ready to take on the world once again.

I’m definitely ready.

Yesterday I woke up feeling infinitely better than I did a couple days ago and ready to tackle the many to-dos that had been piling up while I was busy staring out the window.  Also my appetite is back with a vengeance and I’m back to eating 3 meals a day plus 1-2 snacks throughout the day, which I’m sure is helping with my energy.

If I’m being totally honest some of my old mindsets crept back in from a dark corner of my mind when I wasn’t seeing results from working out.

My old mindset being if I just eat less I will lose weight so I was back to 1-2 meals a day, which as I quickly discovered does nothing for me other than increase my cravings for bad food and improve my likelihood of binge eating.  When I didn’t see results I allowed myself to think maybe now that I’m working out if I just cut back on meals (don’t eat) I’ll lose weight, even though I know that doesn’t work.

My body quickly reminded me that working out for 1 to 1.5 hours a day on a protein bar and one meal all day wasn’t working as evidenced by my lack of motivation and energy.  Lack of energy also had me skip the gym for 3 days and when I did go back I didn’t feel as driven to keep going.  I was back to watching my time on the treadmill and almost quit after only 10 minutes when I’ve been consistently doing at least 30.

It was scary that I was able to slip back into that old mindset so easily but the happy ending to this part of my story is I was able to recognize what I was doing and chose to not settle back into bad habits.  I’ve been to the gym 3 days this week and plan on getting in a quick workout tomorrow before I head home for the weekend where I plan on eating and maybe trying to get in a walk or two since I won’t be near a gym.

I’ve talked about this extensively but I really believe my ability to get back on track comes from the fact that I’m not embracing any diet trend or looking for a quick fix (even though, as evidenced in this post, it’s super challenging for me to be patient) but I’m focusing on long-term change, changing how I eat, developing exercise habits, changing my entire lifestyle.

Do I have it all figured out?  Definitely not.

Will I continue to have periodic setbacks?  Probably.

Will I continue to work hard?  Yes.

Will I eventually reach my goal?  Definitely.

Share your thoughts...

