I’m back….

I’m back in town after an extended weekend back home to watch the Oscars and go see the musical, Memphis (which was amazing!).  It was my mom, my aunt, and I, so a small party but we still had fun drinking Pina Colodas with mustache straws, playing red carpet bingo, and watching the awards.  You can see all the goodies we put together for the show.  I really threw myself into the party because it was so nice to have a project and it was super fun, can’t wait for next year.

I did okay eating-wise over the weekend except for the sugar overdose with the pina coloda mix.  I had a momentary lapse in judgement when I decided I didn’t want to know how much sugar was in the mix but I should have looked before I drank. Checking the bottle later that evening I saw it was 50g of sugar in 1/2 cup plus the alcohol so that was a bit much especially since I’ve been really limiting my sugar over the last few months.  I wouldn’t have had my last couple drinks if I would have been paying attention.  The good news is I survived with just a minor sugar hangover and a reminder that it’s okay to loosen up my eating a bit on special occasions but I still need to maintain awareness.

I planned to go for a walk at least one day while I was up there but the temperatures were in the teens or 20s most mornings and I just wasn’t up for braving that kind of cold.  I did get to run up and down the stairs, plus we went to Costco which walking through there is like a mini workout.  I was gonna go to the gym today but after waking up at 5:30am, then not actually leaving until 9:30, driving for 3 hours, running errands, sorting mail, then getting everything put away from the trip I’m thinking tomorrow will be okay unless I get a burst of energy tonight.  I’m just going to do some longer cardio sessions this week to help make up for missing a day.

I’m going into my 7th week at the gym (YAY!) and I’m still enjoying it so that’s positive.  This week I’m going to mix it up a bit more with the cardio machines instead of sticking to the reliable treadmill and by the end of the week I’m going into the weights area, even if it’s just to do some bicep curls I will cross that line.  I’ve been trying to watch how people use the different equipment (without looking like the weirdo looking at people at the gym) so I’m feeling confident this is the week I cross over.

That’s really all I’ve got for today, just haven’t written anything for a few days and it’s nice to write.  I find it’s easy to lose some of my momentum after a few days off so setting some goals for the week should help get me back into the groove.

2 comments

  1. keen peach · February 24, 2015

    Wow! Sounds like you had a great time! Glad you are back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · February 25, 2015

      Thanks! It’s always nice to get out of town for a few days but I’m glad to be home.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

