It’s time to explore

On the job front I’m still waiting and hoping to hear something.  I was hoping I would just figure it out over my long weekend or that one of my family members would just tell me what I should do next (okay, maybe I wouldn’t actually want that but it would be nice to not have to worry about the decision).

I keep teetering between just moving and waiting to get a job before I move, so I continue to weigh the pros and cons of both until I come to a decision.

Right now I’m leaning toward……wait to get a job but my decision seems to change almost daily.  Last week I was set on moving somewhere around Portland, OR and figuring out the job situation once I arrived but this week I’m not sure that’s the best idea.  I’ve expanded my job search a bit so I would hate to move then get a call from my dream job in a different state 4 hours away from where I live so when I rationalize it finding a job first is the best option.

The downside to this option is boredom but I think I’ve come up with a solution, which is I need to put some effort into change if I’m bored.  The drive home from my parents’ place is 3 hours of nothing but fields so while I am a responsible driver paying attention to the road I also have time to think (when I’m not singing to showtunes like a Star Search contestant, that shows how old I am, scratch that, American Idol contestant).

Basically, I had a ton of time to think about the things I want to do, including some of the things I’ve thought about doing while I’ve lived in this area.

I want to visit some of the small towns, check out the natural parks, explore some of the landmarks around the area, maybe just head out on a road trip for a day without a plan.  I want to just take my camera and some snacks and go explore, rather than just feeling sorry for myself because I’m stuck here.  I’m technically not stuck here but with my situation it’s best for me to stay; however this doesn’t mean I have to literally sit here waiting.

I was reading some articles over the weekend about tips for women traveling alone and realized people do things alone all the time and have fun.  Waiting until I have someone to do things with me is ridiculous.  I have to be smart and follow safety precautions when exploring on my own but keeping my cell phone with me plus letting people know my plans so I can check in are the basics.   I probably won’t be hiking into the woods on my own but I might look online for groups that go out for day trips….it’s like something clicked for me and I realized applying for jobs is a once a day task that takes a couple hours at the most and I’m sick of watching TV.

Going forward I will be taking myself on a least one adventure every week, might just be trying a new walking path or checking out an antiques store in the next town over but I’m going to do some exploring.  (I’m also going to finally apply for a passport in case my explorations expand)  I talked last week about my life being on pause but I’m beginning to realize I’m the only one who can unpause it and if I’m bored waiting to find a job then I need to find ways to entertain myself so that’s what I’m going to do.

I’m going to hit the play button on my life and start exploring! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

