Time to mix it up

When I first began my workout journey I wanted to work with a trainer but couldn’t commit myself to signing up for 3 months if I wasn’t even sure I was going to be in the area so I just had the starter course then I was on my own.

I’m doing alright on my own and my motivation to keep working out is in place despite not seeing dramatic weight loss I still want to keep moving.  I feel like even without weight loss I can see little differences and know my body is getting stronger and healthier.  If I keep eating right and moving I will eventually see results, I just have to keep reminding myself to be patient (Be Patient!).  I didn’t gain this weight overnight or even in a few weeks so it’s not going to come off right away.  Without motivation I would be back to sleeping in, sitting on my couch, thinking about how I should be working out, and wallowing in my own negativity (which is not very much fun).

My biggest problem right now is I’m starting to get bored so last week when I started feeling less than excited about my workout I knew I needed to act fast to keep my interest.  Once my interest in the activity goes, my motivation is quick to follow.

I spoke to the trainer who went through the starter course with me, let her know my situation, and she’s going to come up with a plan.  Basically I just need someone to help me put some variety into my workouts to help me keep going.  I was researching online but got overwhelmed by all the options plus I feel like such a gym novice someone showing me what to do would help me feel more confident and also probably keep my from injuring myself.

This week has been a bit weird because I was out of town until Tuesday so any type of schedule or routine I had was thrown out the window (Is it really already Thursday?!?).  I’m also struggling with this evil headache that has been lingering for the last couple days, hopefully it goes away if not my overpriced health insurance finally kicks in next week (definitely a downside of unemployment).  I went to bed at like 8 last night and extra sleep seems to have helped some but even with the evil lingering headache I worked out yesterday and today, hoping to get in Friday and Saturday for 4 days this week but we’ll see how it goes.

Hopefully by this time next week I’ll be in the process of learning some new moves so I can change up my workouts, stop the boredom before it settles in, and keep myself moving.

Share your thoughts...

