Feeling Good

Today I feel good, actually I kind of feel like a badass, sounds a bit silly I know but today is the first day in a while that I’ve felt really good about where I’m at with my life.

I left the gym feeling like a superstar ready to take on the world!  Also helps that we have blue skies, sun, and temperatures in the upper 40s (Above is the view out my office window, might have to take a walk today)!

This is my 7th week working out and I think I’m finally starting to see some real changes, which is making me feel more confident.  I woke up this morning and while laying in bed contemplating whether or not to get up I noticed some definition in my arm, not much but enough to motivate me to get to the gym.  I really didn’t want to go today and almost had myself talked out of it until that moment.

I’ve been reading about different playlists lately and have to say I stick to Pandora for my workouts and the rest of my day. My favorite workout stations are Workout (great mix of hip-hop, new pop, and some classics), Hip-hop workout and if I find myself needing to dig in a bit more I turn to Rap Strength Training.  One of the first songs I heard when I started my workout was a song I’d never heard before, Missy Elliott, Ching-a-Ling, and was instantly motivated (gotta be honest, I love a good booty-shakin’ club song), of course I also struggled to not just bust out some dance moves 😉  The rest of my day blogging and job searching is on shuffle so anything from Eminem to Ben Folds to 90’s grunge to Broadway, so a good but weird variety.

My workout today was half a mile on the elliptical (without feeling like I was going to collapse), then some strength training (about 35-40 minutes), one mile on an exercise bike, finished with one mile on the treadmill.  I did the mile in 17.5 minutes, a couple weeks ago I was about 18.5 minutes per mile, so I’m getting closer to my goal of a 15 minute mile.  This was the first time I’d used the bike since I joined the gym and I’ll definitely use it again.  Maybe part of what made me feel so good was throwing in some variety today with the elliptical and exercise bike.

I’ve also been making myself go to bed earlier (Sleep is good!) and continuing to work on my eating so I’m sure that’s also helping.  I might also be super excited because someone might be coming to take away the beast today (for those of you who don’t know the beast is an old TV I’ve been trying to get rid of for weeks).  I’m not holding my breath because I’ve had plans fall through with about 8 different people but I’m going to try to hold onto my optimism that this is the one, the person who will free my dining room of the beast, ha ha.

Hope everyone has a great weekend! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

