You’ve got mail!

This is definitely a random topic but it’s my blog so I allow myself to go off topic every so often plus this could technically be part of my lifestyle change since one of my goals is to reconnect with people and get better at staying in touch.

I was going through my office and found a pile of cards I’ve received from my sister-in-law, who is a great pen pal and the inspiration for this post 🙂  We all get Facebook likes, instant messages, texts, emails, etc…but how often do you get actual physical mail that isn’t junk or bills?

When I started cleaning out stuff to prepare for moving I began to dig through old boxes and found piles of letters, birthday cards, and other random greeting cards that had been sent to me over the years.  I’m a packrat and a bit sentimental so I save just about everything.  It brought back so many memories to read through some of the letters.

I found myself on the floor for almost 2 hours, crying, laughing, and reminiscing as I dug through the boxes.  I had letters from high school friends who diligently sent me letters during my first year of college (thanks guys!), my grandparents expressing their disappointment at my failing grades but also their support that I would straighten up my act (I didn’t until years later), and love letters from my first real love (hence the tears).

I feel sad we don’t correspond more through the mail.  I appreciate the convenience of communication through all the various forms of technology but I will always treasure the hand written letters of my friends and family.  My sister-in-law has definitely inspired me to send more mail because few things brighten my day more than seeing something in my mailbox that isn’t a bill or random junk mail so I love the thought of bringing that joy to other people.

I find myself picking up cute cards when I see them and even bought some awesome Batman stamps (there’s tons of super fun stamps out). FullSizeRender (7) I also have tons of stickers (had a sticker collection when I was a kid and I never quite let it go) that I use to decorate the envelopes.

As I start adventuring I’m going to keep an eye out for unique postcards.

I would encourage everyone who might be reading to mail out a card, a letter, or a postcard to someone you know, encourage them to write back or to pay it forward by sending someone else a card.   We all stay so busy and I know I’ve been better with my correspondence (Although I have a few to write this weekend) since I haven’t been working but really it only takes 5 minutes to jot a quick note to someone and drop it in the mail.  I know once I start working I’ll keep on using “snail mail”

Sometimes it’s the smallest things that can brighten up someone’s day. 🙂

6 comments

  1. Pingback: My 1 Year Blogging Anniversary | Transitions in my Life
  2. Single Strides · March 31, 2015

    I love it! We definitely share the same ideas about snail mail. I’d recommend getting some lovely personalized stationary off of Etsy. There are so many GREAT designs and it adds an even more personal touch. I also made my own Christmas cards this year and it’s great to see people display them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · March 31, 2015

      I didn’t think to check Etsy, great suggestion. I’ve been making homemade cards but I like to have stationary on hand for when I’m not feeling crafty 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Happy Typewriter · March 1, 2015

    I love sending letters. So fun! Love this post.
    Was wondering if I could include some of your words in a book I’m working on called Fall in love with writing. It combines the words of over 160 bloggers and there is a section on letter writing. I’d love to include this:

    “When I started cleaning out stuff to prepare for moving I began to dig through old boxes and found piles of letters, birthday cards, and other random greeting cards that had been sent to me over the years. It brought back so many memories to read through some of the letters.
    I found myself on the floor for almost 2 hours, crying, laughing, and reminiscing as I dug through the boxes. I had letters from high school friends who diligently sent me letters during my first year of college (thanks guys!), my grandparents expressing their disappointment at my failing grades but also their support that I would straighten up my act (I didn’t until years later), and love letters from my first real love (hence the tears).
    I feel sad we don’t correspond more through the mail. I appreciate the convenience of communication through all the various forms of technology but I will always treasure the hand written letters of my friends and family.”

    Your name, age and country would be included or you can be anonymous. All good if you’re not interested. Just thought I’d check. Thanks heaps, JD.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · March 2, 2015

      Hi JD, Thanks for reading and following! I checked out your blog and followed back. I enjoy your writing and look forward to reading more. I would be okay with you using the excerpt you list in your comment for your book. It sounds like a great project and I would love my words to be included.
      I went through a period where I didn’t write very often but recently fell back in love with writing so I’m a supporter of writing of all types. You can include my name, age, and country, Tasha, 35, USA. Thanks again for reading and for including me in your book! 🙂

      Like

      • The Happy Typewriter · March 2, 2015

        Thank-you so much! I’m so glad to include you. No worries. Will keep you updated.

        Like

Share your thoughts...

