Commitment and Breakfast

My first time waking up this morning was at 5am with a sick cat (having pets really can feel like training for having kids) but I know the routine. I give him his medicine and a bite of food before I climb back into bed. I consider getting up at this point but instead fall back asleep.

You know that moment when you find the perfect sleeping position? The temperature is just right, the pillows are perfectly positioned, the planets seem to align allowing you to sleep so perfectly that getting out of bed seemed like a crime. That was what happened when I woke up at 7 so I gave in and went back to sleep for another hour.

Since I “slept in” (8:00) I was going to skip the gym today but knew I needed to go downtown for another errand so the rationale was if I’m going to get up, get dressed and go somewhere I might as well hit the gym for a quick cardio session.  Whenever I’m on the fence about going to gym the following quote pops into my head and it usually gives me the push I need, “Commitment is pushing yourself when no one else is around”  I have supportive people all around me but ultimately its up to me to get myself up and out the door to accomplish my goals.

My errand was buying a ticket for a local Mardi Gras event (live bands, drinks, dancing) tonight but when I got to the place I had to have cash. What!? I never have cash so I was sent to the ATM across the street, out of order, so I had to go about 2 blocks down to find an ATM.

The walk was a good warm up plus I talked to a super cute guy, okay maybe he just said “Good Morning” to me but it was still a bit of a confidence boost and motivator. Thank you super cute random guy for driving me to walk a bit faster this morning 😉  I did 2 miles in 34:40!  I was really pushing for 34 but it just didn’t happen.

I was also motivated because I told myself if I worked out and ran my errand I could have breakfast.  Not the bowl of oatmeal and fruit or protein bar I eat most mornings but real breakfast.  Hashbrowns, sausage, bacon, eggs, toast, omelettes, french toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, etc. I love it all!  Most mornings I get up, grab something quick, and go workout, then by the time I get home most mornings (around 10) it’s usually a pita with turkey and avocado.

Today it was hashbrowns, sausage, and eggs but since I’m changing my eating habits I tweak my favorite breakfast foods to be a bit more healthy.  Usually I do sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes but I was out so I settled for white potatoes, just a smaller portion.  Chicken sausage, sprinkles of cheese instead of handfuls of cheese, and spinach with the eggs to add in some veggies, would have added in some peppers but I really need to go shopping.

Now after enjoying a workout, a delicious breakfast, and some writing time I’m just going to kick back.  I’ve never been to the Mardi Gras celebration here but the money for tickets and such goes to a good cause plus I haven’t been out in forever so it should be fun.

I feel like such an old lady but I’m usually up by 7am and in bed by 10pm so if I’m going out tonight I might need a nap to keep me going, ha ha.

Share your thoughts...

