Appreciating my Freedom

I realized when I woke up an hour late that I hate daylight savings time.  I’ve managed to get myself into waking up consistently around 7 every morning but this morning I realized that meant I’m now waking up at 8…..so now I need to start setting an alarm again until my body adjusts.

I feel like this threw off my whole morning and struggled to get started.  I skipped the gym (I have a plan to workout today just not the gym) and since I made that choice I decided I needed to take care of some errands.  The problem was I just wasn’t feeling it today.  I ignored my desire to simply curl back up in bed and made myself get moving because I need to keep moving.  The bright side of today is the weather is gorgeous, blue skies, sunshine, temperatures above 50:)  Even though it was still slightly chilly I threw on a skirt and my favorite sandals.

IMG_6198

Once the temperature goes above 50 my toes must be free (although I am in need of a pedicure)!!

I’m feeling strangely anxious about today for some reason and maybe it’s some kind of gut instinct telling me something is going to happen today or maybe it’s just the usual anxiety.  Not knowing is enough to make anyone feel anxious.  It’s tough to not feel anxious but I continue to work on suppressing my anxiety and finding joy in my situation.

Lately one of the ways to squash my anxiety is to remind myself that all the roads are open to me and I have nothing holding me back but myself.  I need to embrace the freedom I have while I still have it.  I’m changing my perspective and learning many of the things I see as negative are actually positives and open up even more options for me.  I’m single.  I have no kids.  I’m unemployed.  I’m on a month-to-month lease.

I probably won’t be impulsively flying off to Europe but I can continue to clean out my apartment, do some of the craft projects I’ve wanted to do, go out from time to time, and continue to work on my health.  As more of the jobs I’ve applied for move to the next step in the process (“referred to hiring manager”) I think I’m beginning to realize that soon I could be thrown back into the hustle and bustle of having a job.

I’m looking forward to getting back to work but I also don’t want to look back at this time and think “I should have done more with my freedom”  I listed more stuff to sell and put together a to-do list for this week, which includes a healthy mix of practical and fun because I know I can’t get this time back so I need to make the best of it and enjoy my freedom while it lasts.

2 comments

  1. keen peach · March 9, 2015

    You are so good at keeping your mind in a positive place. I love that you keep in mind that all roads are open. What a great thought!
    Love your sandals too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · March 10, 2015

      Thanks! It’s definitely not easy to stay positive and I certainly have bad days but writing helps me keep things in perspective. I love the sandals, wasn’t sure about that style at first but they’re so comfy 🙂 I can’t wait for summer!

      Like

Share your thoughts...

