Working with a trainer

I worked out with a trainer today!  I’m signed up for 4 sessions with her and yes, it’s expensive (I knew it would be) but it’ll be worth it to keep me motivated. I’ve been working out for 9 weeks now, longer than I’ve kept going in years but I was starting to see the signs that I was on my way to quitting.

I was fighting harder in the morning to defeat my ever growing number of excuses for not working out:
“I’ll go for a walk this afternoon”
“I don’t feel like working out”
“I’ll work out tomorrow”
“I’m tired”
“I don’t feel good”
“I have too much to do today”

The last one is my favorite because I’m unemployed…..so, really?  Too much to do today?

I was also struggling to get going and keep going during my workouts.  I would skip machines or do fewer reps.  I spent my cardio time watching the clock so I knew change was needed in order for me to keep going so I enlisted the help of a trainer.

It’s interesting because over the last week I feel like my eating is starting to get back on track but I was losing interest in working out. I don’t know why it’s so challenging for me to combine the two because it seems so simple, eat a reasonable amount of food that’s good for you and work out 3-5 days a week.  For some reason doing both at the same time is like trying to do some complicated dance moves, my legs are doing one thing while my arms are doing something completely different and I can’t get them in sync.

I thought I had it figured out but I think this just reminds me that weight loss and getting healthy will continue to be a challenge for me.  It’s something I need to work at until I reach a point where healthy habits are second nature.  I thought I was at that point but I know I still have work to do.

I’m doing something a bit unconventional but it’s something I feel like I need to do for my own benefit.  I’m weighing myself as often as I want to but I have to write it down with the time.  I don’t know if it will do anything but I think it might help me better understand how much my weight can fluctuate and hopefully get me to a place where I focus less on the number.

I’m doing bare minimum meal planning, which right now is at night I sit down and write on a post-it note what I plan to eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner the next day.  It’s insanely simple but it’s working for me right now.

I’ll be working with a trainer once a week for the next few weeks to help mix up my workouts.  She is easing me into the weight area (yay!) with cable bicep curls, tricep rope extentions, back extension, Roman chair single leg knee ups, and lat pulldown.  We also did some stationary lunges and used the TRX (I really like this) to do rows and squats.

I already feel reinvigorated with my workouts and also think I might be feeling a bit sore tomorrow but it’s good because it means I’m working new muscles.  Hopefully I won’t be too sore because I plan on heading out for my first hike of the season so hopefully I’ll have some great pictures to share.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life
  2. Sassyfitnesschick · March 13, 2015

    Go you! I so relate and understand where you are right now, I’ve walked that path in the past of giving in to excuses or wavering in my commitment to myself. Could I encourage you to check out my post “No Excuses” on my page ? Hopefully, it will offer encouragement and let you know you aren’t alone in these struggles =) Stay strong my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · March 14, 2015

      I read “No Excuses” then spent an hour reading through other posts. I love your blog! You’re an inspiration. I struggle with feeling like I should be past the point of making excuses but then I remind myself to be patient because habits take time to fully form. Years of bad habits won’t just disappear in 2 months so I keep working. Thanks for reading and for the encouragement! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sassyfitnesschick · March 14, 2015

        You are welcome and you are so right! It does take time. I was older than you when I started and all I did was take one day at a time. Thinking to far out almost made me feel defeated before I started. One day at a time though, was very manageable. I think you’re off to a great start simply by being aware of what you need to do, and wanting to make those changes. Stay strong!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

