No More Microwave

Sometimes I like to write about random topics.  On this cold, windy, rainy day I choose microwaves.

My inspiration for this post was when I went to heat up a can of soup but remembered I don’t have a microwave anymore, actually haven’t had one for almost 6 months. It’s funny how your brain can forget about things like that but I was pretty hungry and feeling a bit impatient; however, I had no choice but to dig out a pot and heat up the soup on the stove.

I didn’t give up my microwave because I thought it was dangerous or that it kills the nutrients in food.  In October I realized my microwave was disgusting beyond deep cleaning so I got rid of it with the intention of buying a new one later that week. What happened over the course of several weeks was I began to adjust to life without a microwave and I liked having the extra counter space.

The weeks turned into months and I would have moments where I would think about getting one but then realize I didn’t actually need it anymore.  I found I could still eat and most of the time food was better.  I received a set of amazingly nice baking dishes for Christmas (Thanks Mom!) so I now have a great variety of dishes to make just about anything.

In the beginning these are some of the things I missed and my eventual solution:

Hot water for tea: My water cooler has hot water and I also got a tea pot for Christmas (Thanks again Mom!).
Heating up soups:  A pot works fine and takes about 3-4 minutes longer than using the microwave.
Microwave popcorn:  Popcorn is so much better freshly popped with coconut oil and kernels
Nachos or anything with melted cheese:  Much better in the oven, other than the time it takes to heat the oven about the same amount of time
Heating up leftovers:  This is one that I do sometimes wish I had a microwave but depending on what it is I just heat it up in a pan or in the oven

My unintentional microwave free life actually came at a great time, right before I really began to change my eating habits. Living without a microwave did require me to think more about what I was eating.  My logic was if I’m going to take the time to use the stove or oven I might as well actually put a bit of effort into what I’m eating.

I quit buying frozen foods because even though many of those foods can be cooked in the oven my reason for buying them was quick and easy, so take away the quick and there’s no longer a purpose in buying them plus most of these foods are terrible.  High in sodium, high in fat, with long lists of unpronounceable ingredients so eliminating frozen food from my life was just one of the first steps toward changing my eating habits.

Getting rid of your microwave might seem a bit extreme but I would recommend it, even just as an experiment.  Try going a week or two weeks or a month and I think you might be surprised how it easy it is to go without it.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Bark | Transitions in my Life
  2. keen peach · March 18, 2015

    This is great! I still use the microwave but there is part of me that thinks the food has to be better for you when it’s not cooked in there. So glad living with no microwave is working so well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · March 18, 2015

      I never thought I could go without a microwave but it was surprisingly easy. If you can, you should try going without for a week just as an experiment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • keen peach · March 18, 2015

        That’s a good idea! I must prepare myself mentally first lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      • daisy9979 · March 19, 2015

        lol, You’ll have to let me know if you give it a shot 🙂

        Like

Share your thoughts...

