Non-Stop Fun :)

My weekend was non-stop.  I figure I drove a little over 400 miles over 3 days but it was definitely worth it to spend quality time with my amazing family.

IMG_6350

Davenport Hotel lobby

My mom, 3 aunts, my cousin and I all enjoyed a fabulous evening together with delicious drinks, food, and entertainment. All the sisters stayed at a nice hotel downtown which was where we enjoyed our fancy dinner.  I met them at the hotel which has one of the most impressive lobbies I’ve ever seen.

IMG_6358

Peanut Brittle Martini Yum! 😉

I avoided taking pictures of my food (I’ll have a post about this) even though it was a beautiful salmon with carrots, tomatoes, mashed potatoes, and a sauce I can’t remember what it was but it was delicious.  I did sneak a picture of my “Peanut Brittle Martini”  The drink menu was pretty fantastic with my mom and aunt ordering a “Jazzy Jezzebel” just because the name was fun.

I love musical theater and this weekend’s show was “Mamma Mia”, which if you’ve seen the movie you can imagine the show.  It was high energy and high fun.  I will be spending the next week singing Abba songs 🙂

I spent Saturday night with my cousin whom I adore (not just saying that because she could be reading 😉 ).  We’re the same age and grew up together but like so many of my relationships I have a tendency to get out of touch with people so I’m making a conscious effort to spend time with people I enjoy.  Like I’ve mentioned before I’m lucky to be at a place where my job hunting isn’t all consuming and I have lots of time so why not spend that time with great people?

The next morning we split a delicious breakfast of crabs benedict (eggs benedict with a crab cake instead of a muffin) and red potatoes.  YUM!  I think I could eat that every morning, well maybe not, but I am going to try to poach eggs.  We then went on a great little hike up near her place where I snapped this picture.

IMG_6366

Over the weekend I felt like I had a few small victories in my lifestyle change efforts.

I parked almost a mile away from the hotel, partially because I hate driving around in downtown looking for parking but also because I knew I hadn’t worked out all day.

At dinners I have avoided certain entrees because of the sides preferring to get french fries or something equally unhealthy.  I’m glad I stuck with the salmon and the sides were perfect.  I didn’t miss not having french fries.

I’ve avoided splitting meals with people before because I wanted to make sure I had enough food (too much food) so when my cousin suggested splitting breakfast there was a part of my brain that said “NO” but thankfully a larger part of my brain said that’s plenty of food.  It was just the right amount of food.

Even going for a hike was a small victory because even though I got a little winded and sweaty I think a few months ago I wouldn’t have even gone and if I did go I don’t know if I would have made it the whole way.

Like I said small victories.

Now I’m back to real life but will be heading out again on Thursday so I’m trying to keep myself from feeling overwhelmed so I figured I would sit and write for a few minutes.  I’m actually exhausted so I might have to give it up for the day and start fresh tomorrow.  I got up at 7:30 this morning so I could drive 3 hours so I could meet with my trainer at 12:30.  I arrived in town at 11:30, giving me just enough time to grab some groceries, and put stuff away before heading to the gym.

I have 2 birthdays coming up in the next week or so and that means presents.  One is a project I need to finish up and get in the mail but it might be a bit late (Sorry Jasi:) ).  I got a call from the Red Cross (finally) so hopefully I’ll actually get to start volunteering.  Most exciting though is an actual time has been set up for someone to take “The Beast” Yay!

Hopefully tomorrow I will be showing off my empty dining room corner and hope everyone else had a great weekend!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Staging a Technology Intervention | Transitions in my Life
  2. keen peach · March 23, 2015

    Wow! I’m so jealous of your weekend! Glad you had a great time. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

