Back Home Again

Another fabulous weekend away has come to an end 😦  I hate to leave but a part of me does like being home; although, I’m falling in love with staying busy.  I sometimes hate all the driving but it gives me time to think about everything from careers to dating to job searches to what I want to wear tomorrow to eating to working out to why everyone insists on going 80mph when the speed limit is 60mph…..

I’m pleased to say the weekend away once again tested me with food choices and activity choices.  For the most part I did okay trying to stay active and not overeat.

I only had one night where I definitely ate too much….actually 2 nights.  I ate way too much popcorn at the movies on Thursday then I took my mom for a nice dinner on Saturday night because her birthday was on Thursday (Happy Birthday again!) and dinner was so delicious I overindulged.  They had fresh made bread with olive oil that I wanted to take home with me but I really wish I’d eaten one less piece of bread and saved room for some tiramisu 😉 .

Friday I woke up and took myself on a 3 mile walk through my hometown, snapping pictures like a tourist and had a blast.  Hometown visits are always interesting because you see what’s changed, what’s stayed the same, and often realize why you have a weird love/hate relationship with the town.

I also went bowling with my Grandpa and his friends.  My Grandpa is an amazing bowler and even though he’s over 80 he still consistently bowls high scores.  I was worried I was going to be embarrassed because I am not a bowler but I held my own and bowled a 132 and 129, not too shabby for someone who bowls maybe once a year or less.  It was fun.  It gave me a chance to do something active and best of all gave me a chance to spend time with my Grandpa.

All my time thinking and driving had me putting together a to-do list in my mind that probably needs to find it’s way onto paper before I forget everything I wanted to get done this week.  I want to write at least once a day.  I have tons of photos to upload to my photo blog.  I found some more job openings I want to apply for this week.  I might try to plan a hike for the end of the week depending on the weather.  I need to finish someone’s birthday present and get it in the mail.  I need to work on my Red Cross volunteer training.  My apartment is a mess so cleaning will be needed this week.

On the getting healthy front….

Tomorrow I’m going to put together some meal plans for the week and a good grocery list.  You might see some of the meal plan because I think posting it would give me some accountability.  I keep saying I’m going to do it but then I don’t and my eating ends up being hit or miss as far as staying healthy and eating the right amount of food.

Tomorrow is also my last training session so I need to look over everything tonight and make sure I get all my questions answered.  Even though it was expensive and only for 4 days I’m so glad I could work with a trainer because it’s helped me feel more confident about being in the gym.  I’m in a place where I can start creating my own routines and I really look forward to working out because I’m not doing the same thing all the time (plus I’m finally starting to see some results! 🙂 ).

It’s gonna be another busy week but like I wrote on Thursday I think everything is starting to come together so each week is starting to feel like a new adventure where anything is possible.

Share your thoughts...

