Meal Plan Monday

As I mentioned yesterday one of my to-do’s to help me progress with my healthy lifestyle change is to create meal plans for the week and I wanted to post it for accountability.  My fridge is almost empty and my cupboards are nearly bare so it’s time to grocery shop.  I know meal plans are good for a variety of reasons but for my purposes it will help me get into a place where I’m eating 3 meals a day and eating healthier food.

Right now the meal plan is super basic because if I over-complicate things I won’t stick with it and I just say that because I know myself.  I am venturing out and trying a few new recipes including tofu for the first time.  This has been on my “things to try” list for a long time but this is the week.

I’m also looking forward to trying the sweet potato and bacon pizza.  I saw this in a magazine over the weekend and knew instantly I wanted to try it.  A recipe combining three of my favorite things, sweet potato, bacon, and pizza, yes please! 🙂

As I wrote this out I learned to do dinners first because then I could incorporate leftovers into my lunches.  Tonight I’m making a pork tenderloin so I know I’ll have plenty to make tacos tomorrow night.  My grocery list will be simple and I’m going to try doing some comparison shopping and maybe check out some coupons to save money.  I’ve hated the idea of going to different grocery stores but I’m willing to give it a try especially since I have time and could stand to save some money (plus I live in a town where driving just about anywhere takes about 5 minutes).

I’ll keep some stuff (fruits, crackers, cheese, veggies, hummus, etc) on hand for snacks and am going to make some Peanut Butter Energy Bites to grab in the morning before hitting the gym.  I think seeing some changes in my body is making me feel more motivated to keep everything on track and this might be what I need to finally get my healthy eating habits and working out in sync (you can read more about that struggle here).  Nothing fancy but I think it’s a good start.

Breakfast
T: Toast with almond butter & berries
W: Eggs with turkey sausage
T: Oatmeal with berries
F: Sweet potato hash
S: Veggie fritatta
Lunch
T: Soup
W: Pasta with tuna and broccoli
T: Dinner leftovers
F: Salad and Pita
S: Leftover pizza and salad
Dinner
T: Pork tacos with rice
W: Tofu stir fry
T: Baked chicken w/sweet potatoes & veggies
F: Bacon & sweet potato pizza
S: Eggplant Parmesan

3 comments

  1. Pingback: “It’s Complicated” | Transitions in my Life
  2. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · March 31, 2015

    Sweet potato and bacon pizza sounds AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. keen peach · March 30, 2015

    Your meal plan look great! Let us know how the bacon and sweet potato pizza is.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

