Grocery Shopping with Sore Legs

I had a very productive morning.  I went to the gym, the grocery store, Wal-Mart, and the post office.  All errands done by 10:30am, which always makes me feel like a superstar.  I realized my chosen grocery shopping day fell on the first so I wanted to get in and out early because the first is usually a busy grocery day and I’m not a big fan of fighting through people to get my groceries.

IMG_3633

No shame showing off this shopping cart:)

I’ve tried different apps for grocery shopping but I haven’t found one that I like better than an old school hand written list and a pen.  I bought enough to get me through my meal plan this week and probably through next week since I’ll freeze the chicken, plus break the bacon and sausage up into smaller freezer packs. Plus I picked up some bananas, apples, tangerines, and kiwis for easy snacks throughout the day.

I did good sticking to my list except for the following:  salami (I know it’s not the best thing for me but I crave it every so often with cheese and crackers); coffee (I forgot to put it on the list but I NEED IT!); whipped cream (another thing that’s not the best but I allow myself a bit with my coffee on the weekends or with fruit); lemons (I realized I had strawberries and would love to make some strawberry & lemon infused water); An egg coloring kit & vinegar (I color eggs every year, one of many things I’ve never outgrown 🙂  )

That was grocery shopping.  Now for the sore legs part of this post…..

I learned over the last month or so that I really didn’t know how to do certain exercises properly and learning is proving to be a painful (but healthy) lesson.  My trainer incorporated squats into 3 out of the 4 workout routines she set up for me and I have a love/hate relationship with them, challenging but good for me.

My final training session on Monday introduced me to lifts: squats with weights, Romanian deadlift, and bench press.

When she said we were going to do squats I was thinking I can handle this but when she told me we were going to add some weight out loud I said okay but inside I was crying.  She gave me the option of only doing 2 sets of 10 but I had to do that 3rd set.  Today I did lunges and squats with the TRX suspension so even though I took yesterday off my legs are killing me.  I definitely feel it every time I stand up or sit down but I bought a foam roller from Walmart because I used one at the gym and it really helped so I’m thinking having one at home will help me work out these sore muscles.

The bench press wasn’t too bad but my chest is a little bit sore.  For some reason the deadlift was most challenging for me to get the movement right.  I was locking my knees then if I loosened my knees I wanted to bend at the knees.  I couldn’t keep my back straight and struggled to bend at the hip.  Several times I had to just stop because I started overthinking my movements.  It’s funny when you know what you need to do and it seems so simple but your body refuses to cooperate.

When I was doing bench presses on Monday I felt so proud of myself going from a woman who was too scared to even walk into a weight room to a woman doing bench presses and squats.

I’m hoping to go for a hike this week in place of a cardio session at the gym but the weather is not cooperating.  The area had a few super nice days now we’re back to rain and temps in the 50’s but I’m thinking tomorrow or Friday I might be able to get in a hike without getting rained on but we’ll see.  I found a place that’s only a 30 minute drive so even if it’s rainy it’ll be worth checking out and it gets me out of the house.

3 comments

  1. keen peach · April 1, 2015

    What a great day! Your shopping trip looks great and I am so proud of you getting in there and killing it in the gym!!!! (Not that me being proud means anything.) That’s so awesome Daisy, keep it up girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · April 1, 2015

      Your being proud means so much to me. Your workouts inspire me and your comments have really helped keep me going on my getting healthy journey! Thank you! 🙂

      Like

      • keen peach · April 2, 2015

        I’m so glad! It has been so fun following your fitness journey. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

