A New Plan & My New Best Friend

I woke up to sunshine streaming through the windows and I was so excited!
Maybe the weather report I read last night was wrong.
It’s not going to be below 50 degrees but more like 60 so I can go on my hike….unfortunately as soon as I stepped outside to do laundry I realized the weather was right ūüė¶
Thirty minutes later the sunshine is covered by dark gray clouds so I decide to hold off on my hike until tomorrow.

I’m going for a walk later because it’s supposed to clear up and warm up a bit but I’m also going to do some exercises inside at home today. ¬†One of the routines given to me by the trainer has tons of floor work so I can do it at home. ¬†I love going to the gym but some days you just want to work out at home. ¬†I don’t get super dressed up or made up to go to the gym but I do put in a bit of effort so I don’t look like a pale zombie with bedhead (plus I’m single ūüėČ ).

IMG_6479

Foam roller & James the cat (he’s so cute) I’m actually amazed he hasn’t used this as a scratching post

I mentioned yesterday I picked up a foam roller and this thing is my new best friend.

It hurts sometimes to use but it really does work out my sore muscles. When I used it for the first times at the gym I thought I was going to cry as I rolled my aching thighs on the roller but I was amazed when I stood up to realize my pain had diminished drastically.

Where has this been all my life?

IMG_6480

Peanut Butter Energy Bites!

I was feeling ambitious today so I got into the kitchen and made these Peanut Butter Energy Bites from Crunchy Creamy Sweet (Thanks Jasi for sharing the recipe on Pinterest).  I usually eat something before I head out to the gym so I think these will be perfect.

I’m still not in love with cooking but I’m falling in love with knowing exactly what’s in my food. ¬†These are great because there’s no cooking or baking required! ¬†Mix em’ up, put in the fridge, and Voila!

On the eating front I’m doing good with my meal plan except for breakfast, which has always been a struggle . I eat something before the gym then I come home, take a shower, drink a cup of coffee, and have the best intentions of making breakfast but most often I sit myself in front of the computer to start “working” (checking email,applying for jobs, writing, and playing on Facebook).

By the time I finally decide to step away from the computer it’s 2 or 3 in the afternoon and I’m ravenously hungry so I eat a ginourmous lunch then I’m not hungry to eat dinner at 5 or 6 so I end up eating at 7 or 8 then I don’t get to bed until 10 or 11. ¬†It’s just another illustration of how easy it is to slip back into old (bad) habits. ¬†Skip breakfast one day, then the next day, then the next, then I might also skip lunch the next day, and BAM! I’m back to my old eating habits….unless I create a plan (I love plans and lists).

1.  No computer time until after breakfast.
2. ¬†I’m also going to set alarms for meal times. ¬†The idea seems a bit silly but it’s simple and I think it will get me ino the habit of eating at certain times of the day.
3. ¬†More food prep. ¬†I hate prepping but it makes life easier. ¬†I cooked a pack of chicken breakfast sausage (it’s delicious). ¬†Today I cut up green peppers, red peppers, and onions. ¬†Tonight I’m going to cut up some strawberries.

Now I’ve got to dash because I want to get in a walk before dinner at 6pm. ¬† Also I want to go over my meal plan and make sure I’ve got everything for tomorrow’s highly anticipated dinner of bacon and sweet potato pizza.

Share your thoughts...

