Trying New Foods-Tofu Thursday

I’ve bought several packages of tofu only to have them sit in my fridge until they expired because I was scared.  Last night I almost talked myself out of it (I’m good at coming up with excuses when I don’t want to do something.  Yesterday it was mostly I don’t feel like it) but I make myself stick to the meal plan and I’m glad I did.

Yes, I am scared of tofu….okay, maybe I’m just scared of taking it out of the package because I don’t know what to expect or what to do with it.  Tonight I’m taking the first step in conquering that fear and making tofu stir fry.

5:30 PM Tuesday I’ve already made progress because it’s out of the package and sitting on the counter squished between some paper towels drying (?) so I’m counting on the random directions I found online (Veggie Tofu Stir Fry from Minimalist Baker) to help me prepare this so I don’t completely hate it….to be continued


7:30PM Tuesday I’m not sure why I was so scared of tofu.  Okay, so I guess I understand my fear.  It’s squishy and weird looking with no distinct smell plus it definitely seems like something if you don’t take the time to figure out how to prepare it everything will go disastrously wrong.  I didn’t cut it very evenly but I do not have great knife skills (I watch chefs on TV with envy as they chop away with ease while I just try to not cut myself) so I had different sizes instead of the ideally cut 1-inch cubes they showed in the recipe.

I took my unevenly cut cubes and baked them.  My cat was clawing at my leg as I pulled them out of the oven so I broke off a little piece and dropped it on the floor.  Once he ate it I figured I would be brave and try it (completely ignoring the fact that my cat will eat just about anything I drop on the floor).  It didn’t have any real flavor.  The texture was kind of like scrambled eggs.  I don’t know what I was expecting but it wasn’t bad.

I mixed the tofu in with some veggies and mandarin ginger dressing.  it was pretty good, definitely a filling dish.  I had one small bowl and I was done. Tofu is going to be a regular on my menus in the future and I look forward to trying different recipes.  I’m definitely glad I finally took the plunge and gave it a try.  IMG_6468When I’m scared of something or nervous about trying something new I’m getting better at making myself just do it.  I’m trying to apply this in all areas of my life from trying new foods to applying for jobs or trying new exercises.

This week I’ve conquered tofu…now on to the next challenge!

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update | Transitions in my Life
  2. keen peach · April 2, 2015

    It’s the consistency before it’s cooked. It’s scary haha. Glad you gave it try! I LOVE tofu!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · April 2, 2015

      I actually really liked it and I’m excited to try some other recipes. Glad I’m not the only one who thinks uncooked tofu is scary, ha ha I definitely felt less frightened after baking it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrea · April 2, 2015

    So glad you tried it and liked it! There are tons of great ways to use tofu. I like pressing it then crumbling it in my hands – it’s so fun and stress-reducing! – and then I season it and bake it, and it’s just like ground beef without the cholesterol! http://www.apronstringsblog.com/tofu-taco-filling/ Anyway, happy National Soyfoods Month! Email me and I’ll send you a TofuXPress so you don’t have to worry about “drying” it with paper towels anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · April 2, 2015

      Hi Andrea, Thanks for reading! I didn’t realize it was National Soyfoods Month but that’s good to know. I’m in love with the idea of using tofu like ground beef and will be adding that into my meal plans in the next week or two. I’ll email you my contact info. Thanks again for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  4. jordynashley · April 2, 2015

    I have the EXACT same thoughts and being scared of tofu! Your meal looks amazing though… oh man! Maybe I will actually give it a try?!?

    Like

    • daisy9979 · April 2, 2015

      You should totally give it a try! I have to go update my post with this info but this is where I found the instructions for prepping it http://minimalistbaker.com/tofu-that-tastes-good-stir-fry/ From what I read about tofu it seems like drying and baking it is one of the keys to keeping it from being mushy. I actually liked it baked right out of the oven. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

