It’s Wine & Pizza Day!

This post will probably be a grab bag of topics because as I sit down to write I have nothing specific on my mind but several things I feel like writing about so let’s see where this goes ūüôā

First off I went for a 2 mile walk yesterday, although it took me an hour because I stopped so much to take pictures like the one you see above (Not to self promote too much but if you like the pic check out more on my photo blog by clicking the link).  I probably would have had another 50 pics but my batteries died and I forgot I used my backups for something else (Note to self: buy batteries) so I had to make due with my phone.  Cherry blossoms are my favorite.  It made my day to see them in bloom yesterday and I hope to get out again today (with charged batteries) even though I did a pretty good workout in the gym this morning.

As I wrote in Building up Speed I finally did a 16 minute mile and today I did a 15:30 mile so I’m 30 seconds away from my 15 minute mile goal. ¬†It’ll probably be another week or two before I hit that goal because I’m trying to build up speed gradually. When I started out I was at 2.0-2.5 now I’m typically starting out at 3.0 to warm up then usually find my stride about 3.5 before speeding up. ¬†Today I was pretty comfortable around 3.7 but pushed up to 4.2 to get my mile in under 16 minutes.

I still can’t imagine myself jogging for long periods of time but I’m working my way up gradually. ¬†Sometimes I think I need to push more but I push myself in little bursts and I’m really trying to get to a place where I can sustain a certain speed,also I don’t want to risk injuring myself.

My trainer sessions are over but I’ve been given a great repertoire of exercises to keep me on track. ¬†I’m going to keep the 4 routines she gave me in rotation but I’m really looking forward to creating my own routines. ¬†I also think I’m at a place where I can check out exercises on line to add into my routine because I have more base knowledge of the exercises.

As I sit here writing I’ll let you know I ate breakfast this morning. ¬†I had a late start day (because I didn’t want to get up) so it was more like brunch since it was almost 11am. ¬†I ate a Luna bar before the gym then since I knew I had a couple errands to run I threw in some of the Peanut Butter Energy Bites (check out the recipe in yesterday’s post)¬†into a small bag to eat after the gym.

Phone Pics 140When I got home I didn’t even let myself get settled. ¬†I put a pan on the stove with some oil to start heating up before I’d even taken off my coat because I was tempted to grab my cup of coffee, walk straight into my office and plop down in front of the computer.

I pulled out the ingredients I prepped yesterday (chicken sausage, green peppers, red peppers) plus some mushrooms, heated them all up with an egg and put into a pita with a slice of swiss cheese.

Delicious and filling! ¬†The prep definitely made everything much easier and it was a reminder: ¬†better prep=better eating. ¬†I still struggle with the eating 3 meals a day plus snacks because it feels like I’m eating too much; however, I know if I’m eating the right foods I feel so much better when I’m eating consistently throughout the day.

It’s just a challenge to get your mind to that place where you say, “I’m eating lots of food but it’s okay”. ¬† I continue to work on it though. ¬†I bought tangerines, kiwis, apples, strawberries, and blueberries so I have easy to grab healthy snacks to munch on throughout the day. ¬†Just a bit ago I grabbed a tangerine and a handful of popcorn (I have a whole popcorn post planned because I’m obsessed) to snack on since I had a late breakfast, all the rest of the meals have also been pushed back.

I know I’ve been writing about it all week but I’m really looking forward to pizza tonight, hopefully it’s as good as I’ve built it up to me but I don’t know how it could be bad….bacon, sweet potatoes, cheese, pizza, yeah I’m excited!

Maybe my afternoon walk will be down to Safeway to pick up a bottle of wine to enjoy with it. ¬†I’m thinking that sounds like a good way to start the weekend ūüėČ

Share your thoughts...

