Sweet Potato & Bacon Pizza

It’s arrived!  The highly anticipated Sweet Potato & Bacon Pizza.  I’m not a big fan of cooking but I’m working on it, as well as forcing myself to try new food.  One of my favorite things about this recipe is there’s not really much cooking involved.

IMG_6533

Ready to go in the oven

I boiled the sweet potatoes for a few minutes while I chopped up the bacon and green onions plus shredding some mozzarella.

*Side note* For shredding the cheese I have a Salad Shooter my mom bought me years ago.  I scoffed at her when I got it because all I could think of was the cheesy commercial but I use it all the time.  Shredding cheese, carrots, making hashbrowns, slicing cucumbers, etc.  It’s awesome!

Anyways, back to the pizza.  I used green onions instead of red onions.  I wasn’t sure about the Gorgonzola cheese because I’ve never had it before so I try a little piece and I don’t love it but I decide with the ingredients it might be okay and it was more than okay.

I used a Boboli crust with olive oil. Toppings: Sweet potatoes, bacon, Gorgonzola cheese crumbles, mozzarella cheese, green onions, garlic.   I didn’t completely follow the recipe because it’s pizza.  I throw on the toppings, put it in the oven.

IMG_6535

Almost done…

One of the recipes I found for this type of pizza showed it with a balsamic vinegar drizzle. Something else I’ve never really tried so I figure what the heck?

While I’m at Safeway picking up a bottle of wine I decide to grab a bottle of balsamic vinegar (quickly realizing it’s like olive oil there’s lots of options).  I pick a mid-range priced bottle and head home.

It’s so good!  I’m not a foodie by any means but it really adds something to the pizza and as I’m eating I’m making a mental note to find out what else I can eat this on or with because I love it.   

I eat 3 slices which was about one slice too many especially with the salad I ate while the pizza was cooking.  I am stuffed!

It’s amazing how our tastes can shift over time.  I couldn’t help but think a few years ago or even 6 months ago I wouldn’t have made this or even paused to look at the recipe in a magazine.  It’s like I’ve finally opened my eyes to a whole new world of food options and I look forward to continuing to explore.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life
  2. keen peach · April 4, 2015

    Oh yay it looks so good! This is right up my alley. Haha, I am NOT a fan of cooking either. I don’t think pizza would be terrible to make though. My only problem is that there is no way my husband will try this pizza because he is a baby and won’t try anything that’s not chicken fingers or cheese pizza. That leaves me and my 2 year old eating it……… I know how I am, I would it IT ALL haha. It looks delicious though good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · April 4, 2015

      Thanks! I was glad it lived up to the hype. Maybe you could emphasize the bacon and put some extra cheese on it for your husband, might be worth a try 🙂 I’m definitely a traditional pizza person but this was so good I had to force myself to put away the leftovers before I ate the whole thing, ha ha.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

