Meal Plan Monday

My meal plan this week is going to be easy for me because I’m going to be out of town for the weekend, plus as I mentioned in my meal plan lessons post I’ll be eating more leftovers.  I did not stick to the meal plan exactly but just having it helped keep me on track with my goals.  I write it out like you see it typed out below and post it to my fridge so I can see it every day as a reminder.

My goals each week are simple:

1.  Eat 3 meals a day plus healthy snacks at least 2 x a day
2.  Gym at least 4 days a week
3.  Walks at least 3 days a week
4.  Drink lots of water
5.  Accomplish these goals every week until they become habits

I started to put “diets” in my tags but I’m not dieting.  I’m changing my lifestyle and my eating habits.  This is not a short-term “I’m only eating certain foods” or “I’m avoiding all of a certain type of food group” or “I’m only eating soup today” meal plan but an extremely simple meal plan to help get me in the habit of eating healthy meals consistently.

I’m not counting every calorie, I’m still eating cookies (Just 2 a couple days a week with a cup of tea, I’m pretty sure I was meant to be British), I snack on fruit all throughout the day, I eat cheese, I eat bread, I just eat less.  I eat more whole foods, less processed foods, and I’m working on preparing more of my meals.  I’m finally learning about portions and how to stop eating when I’m full.  The only thing I actively avoid is sugar but eating less processed foods and more whole foods helps with this naturally.

Last week I started on Monday because that was how it worked out but I’m keeping it up because I think Meal Plan Monday has a certain flow to it.

017da7c3bbdb5ba380b7760508d5999c2aaea2d49a

This morning I added in a snack because I have Easter eggs to eat.  I love deviled eggs but don’t really eat mayo anymore but I remembered seeing a recipe on Pinterest several months both for deviled eggs made with avocado. A quick search turns up tons of results many of which included mayo…..so a secondary search of avocado deviled eggs no mayo and a quick scroll reveals the winner, skinnytaste.com’s Guacamole Deviled Eggs.

I’m super excited to try these and will you guys know how they turn out later in the week.

Breakfast
M:  Oatmeal with banana
T: Bacon & Egg pita
W: Malt-o-Meal & Fruit
T: Omelet
F: Apple with Almond butter
S: Out
S: Out

Lunch
M: Soup & Pita
T: Leftovers
W: Soup
T: Leftovers
F: Out
S: Out
S: Out

Dinner
M: Pasta with tuna & broccoli
T: Chicken stir fry
W: Eggplant Parmesan
T: Mac & Cheese w/veggies
F: Out
S: Out
S: TBD-Depends on when I get home

Share your thoughts...

