New Haircut=New Woman

Monday was a dark day but I survived.  I didn’t respond to any texts on Monday so Tuesday when I began responding my friend asked if I was okay.  I told her I had a really bad day and shut down.  She just reminded me that she was here for me if I ever needed to talk, which I knew but I just let myself wallow in my misery when I probably would have felt better if I’d reached out to someone.  In that moment though it’s tough.

Today I went in for a haircut.  The stylist, Michael, is one of my favorite people.  He’s fabulous, funny, and a total perfectionist best of all he’s an amazing stylist. He uses organic products, which I love.  As I work on putting better foods into my body it only makes sense to look at what I’m using on my hair and body.  I’ve known him for over a year but the last time I went in was right before the store closed.

I’d talked about finding a new job and moving on by March at the latest so I was a bit embarrassed to go in and see him without any movement in my career aspirations but like a true friend he didn’t judge me.  He didn’t give me a hard time but instead gave me a hug, positive encouragement, and hope.  I told him Monday was a bad day and he said next time that happens I should come in for a shampoo, only 7$ for a bit of conversation and human contact…like I said he’s awesome.

He even gave me a free temporary color although it didn’t turn out exactly how he wanted (perfectionist) so I’m going back in tonight to get it fixed.  I can’t wait to see the final results. *Update* I like the color much better.  Here’s a before from this morning (on the right) and the final outcome from this evening (on the left)…Not the greatest pics but shows the change.  I’ll take a better pic tomorrow  IMG_6702

The haircut makes me feel like a new woman and reminds me how much the simple things can really shift your attitude. Sometimes when you start feeling bad it’s easy to start letting the little things go with your appearance especially if you’re not working.
I might go a week or more without shaving my legs.
I might not put on makeup or fix my hair all week.
I wear workout clothes…even if I’m not going to or coming back from the gym.
I wear my hair in a ponytail…all the time.

IMG_6684

Super girly pink. My new favorite color.

It might be shallow but for me some of the girly maintenance things really help me feel better.

Yesterday I shaved my legs.  I gave myself a pedicure and manicure.

Today I put on makeup and real clothes.  I went out for a haircut then walked around downtown.

Appearance does have an impact on confidence and self-esteem.  The little things made me start to feel a bit more like myself. I am unfortunately quick to get caught up in a rut but with some helping hands and new hair I’m pulling myself out.  It’s much shorter and with more bangs so I’m going to be playing around tonight to find some styles that work to keep my hair back at the gym.

Speaking of the gym….

I’m back in the gym tomorrow before I leave for the weekend and I’m trying to get everything I can done today so I can enjoy some extra time in the gym tomorrow since I didn’t make it in today.  I should be getting in plenty of walking this weekend but I plan on really digging into my workouts for 5 days next week when I get back into town.  I’ve been 3 days this week but I really want to get back into my early bedtime, early mornings at the gym routine because that’s when I was really doing best.

I thought about skipping out of town a day early but I’ve got a list of to-do’s right down to what to pack. I’ll feel better if I spend tomorrow making sure everything is done instead of impulsively throwing everything into a bag and running out the door.  It’s tempting but I tend to be a worrier (even if I’m only gone for 3 days) so I’ll be more relaxed if I finish my list and check it twice!

Share your thoughts...

