Popcorn Post

I love popcorn.  It’s delicious.  It’s cheap and it’s easy to make.

By the time I got rid of my microwave I’d already almost fully transitioned away from microwave popcorn partially because it’s not very good for you and partially because it’s more delicious when it’s homemade.  When I decided to write about popcorn I made some notes in a draft that read “Find popcorn recipes”  “eat all the popcorn in the world”  “It’s healthy?”

The “eat all the popcorn in the world” comment made me laugh.  I must have been hungry that day ha ha

I partially blame my love of popcorn on my love of movies since everyone knows popcorn and movies always go together, right?

One of my earliest memories of popcorn was going to the drive in and taking paper bags of popcorn.  My love affair with popcorn began.  Yes, I’m that old but I’m not old enough to actually remember staying awake through an entire movie.

One of the more common options on treat night when I was growing up were popcorn or ice cream.  My brother would almost always pick ice cream and I would pick popcorn.  Most often the popcorn was made with an air popper with a bit of butter and salt added or in a pot.

As a “grown up” I continue to love popcorn but as I mentioned microwave popcorn is not very healthy so I had to find ways I could still enjoy my favorite treat throughout my lifestyle change.  In the past I would use vegetable oil and kernels in a pot but would then drown the popcorn in butter.  When I started using coconut oil to create sugar scrubs I also began to research more uses for coconut oil and one that I found was popcorn 😀

Once I realized I could make popcorn with coconut oil I was hooked.  It seems lighter than the vegetable oil and I’ve given up butter*.  I like to pop up a big pot so I have leftovers.  I keep them in a covered bowl as a snack for the next couple days or break it up into plastic bags.

I love Kernel Season’s White Cheddar seasoning and the Garlic & Parmesan seasoning.   The ingredients in the seasoning are not the best but other than sodium they’re really not the worst option for popcorn seasoning.  I am exploring other options and one of the best list of options I found wa Food Network’s site 50 Flavored Popcorn Recipes.  The downside is many of these recipes include butter but some don’t and even the ones that do serve as inspiration for flavor options.

Anyone have any delicious popcorn topping options?  I’m always looking for new ones to try.

What’s your favorite go-to snack?

*Random side note about butter.  I don’t buy butter so I don’t eat butter.  I don’t have anything against it or people who eat it but one day I went to buy butter and noticed tons of ingredients (it seemed too complicated) so I wanted to research more before I bought anything but I never did then I found out I didn’t miss it.  I use olive oil for just about anything that requires butter so I just don’t need it.

3 comments

  1. keen peach · April 9, 2015

    I love your love for popcorn!!!! I don’t know why I never became a huge fan of it. If I take one bite of the movie theater popcorn I will eat the whole bag though haha. Coconut oil on popcorn does sound delicious!
    My go to snack right now is apples. I am obsessed with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daisy9979 · April 9, 2015

      Apples are so good. I was obsessed with apples for awhile, right now it’s tangerines…and popcorn. I seem to go in cycles were I obsess over something and eat it constantly then switch my attention to something else.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

