Weekend Recap

This weekend was amazing.  Thankfully there was no snow going or coming back over the pass.  It was exactly what I needed to rejuvenate myself, although right now I’m exhausted I know I’ll be 100% again after a good night’s sleep.  This morning my best friend who I was staying with had to leave for work around 6:30 AM so I left around this time for my 5-6 hour drive home; Upside:  I’m home nice and early  Downside:  Getting up early.

I actually did alright (Thank you grande triple Starbucks Latte) until the last 100 miles because it was so boring.  The drive is nothing but fields; however, a bit of loud music and top of my lungs singing kept me awake.

IMG_6782I was excited when I walked up to my front door and saw a package waiting for me.  A couple weeks ago I wrote about trying tofu for the first time (Trying New Foods-Tofu Thursday) and Andrea at soyfoods.org sent me a TofuXpress to help me dry my tofu plus some other goodies to try (Thanks again!).

I’m so eager to try it out, definitely looks easier than the piles of paper towels I used last time plus I can also marinate the tofu in it and use it for other vegetables like spinach.  I was going to try it tonight but I think I’m doing an easy pasta dish tonight but I’m excited to add in a new tofu recipe to my menu plan this week.

Last week was a rough week for the meal plan.  I might as well have taken it off the fridge, crumpled it up into a ball, and thrown it on the floor for how well I followed it last week.  I’m not going to dwell on the failures of last week but simply move onto a new week and new meal plan.

This weekend I allowed myself to eat whatever I wanted but did alright eating 3 meals a day and not overeating.  My best friend is a great cook so the first night she made us tequila lime chicken tacos, then we added some eggs and hashbrowns the next morning for breakfast tacos.  Yum!

I’ve been craving a burger but was holding out for the right time to indulge the craving and no time was better than when we walked through Pikes Market then headed up to The 5 Point Cafe for lunch.  I had a Bourbon Bacon Bleu Burger (wish I’d taken a pic) loaded with bacon and bleu cheese, it made me very happy definitely the burger I’d been craving 😀

The 5 Point Cafe, Seattle, WA

The 5 Point Cafe, Seattle, WA

Loot from my shopping excursion

Loot from my shopping excursion

Saturday we enjoyed downtown Seattle then drank the night away playing Cards Against Humanity and watching movies. The next day was a hungover shopping excursion (seriously, I’m amazed I could walk) where I might have spent too much money but I forgot what it’s like to be in a real mall.  Stocked up on my favorite body spray at Victoria Secret’s, couple cute new shirts at Old Navy, new earrings, candles (Lemon Mint Leaf candle from Bath & Body Works is now on my list of favorite things), and the item I’m indulging in right now Coconut Ginger tea from Teavana.

This morning I found myself feeling like it’s been forever since I last worked out.  It’s been 4 days but we did walk about 4 miles on Saturday so I don’t feel like a total slacker plus I’m already planning my workout for tomorrow.

I was definitely sad to see the weekend come to an end but it did rejuvenate me and also remind me how much I would really enjoy not just living in a bigger city but living somewhere closer to my friends.

I’m gonna kick back for the rest of the afternoon, catch up on some of my favorite blogs, and enjoy some Netflix time before an early bedtime because tomorrow it’s back to meal plans, gym, and job hunting.  I’m not looking forward to job hunting but I am definitely excited to get back into the gym.

Share your thoughts...

