Case of the Mondays….

Today was another one of those days.  The kind of day where I struggle to get moving.  I hate these days but I don’t know how to completely stop them although right now making plans to fill my day is my best defense.  Despite the cheerleaders in my head encouraging me to get going my body was just not having any of it and even once I was up I almost crawled back into bed.

As I walked into my closet to pick out something to wear to the gym I had to summon up a serious amount of inner strength or motivation or something powerful to resist climbing back into bed.  Once I open the blinds I see the sun is shining, the sky is blue, birds are singing so I decide to go for a walk outside instead of walking on the treadmill for an hour.

This turns out to be a great decision.  I might even go out again after dinner.  It’s a beautiful day.  I didn’t take my camera with me because even though I enjoy taking pictures today I just wanted to walk, although I did snap a few pics with my phone.

10523320_937957569577513_8576106657948593632_n1962617_937957542910849_8281266614630736625_n

When I returned home I actually did my hair and put on makeup to go run errands because getting dressed up has a way of making me feel better.  I was only going to run to WalMart for some cleaning essentials but I decide to walk through the mall to pick up some more candles (I think I’m addicted to those lemon mint leaf candles.  Actually I’m afraid I’ll go to buy more and they won’t carry them anymore.).  Unfortunately, they are out but the lady is super nice and offers to call me when they come in plus give me the deal that ended yesterday.  I love Bath and Body Works.

I decide to go into Old Navy but give myself a $20 budget because I bought 3 new shirts when I was in Seattle last weekend.  I brought about 15 things into the dressing room because I’ve learned I like to try on different things, even if I don’t think they’ll work for me (Be Happy…is a post all about clothes shopping).  I ended up walking out with a $2 pair of sleeping shorts and something genuinely useful, workout pants for only $10.

Getting out into the world was what I needed.

The mornings I don’t want to get started scare me immensely because the part of me that wants to hide under the covers is powerful.  I feel like I’m on the outskirts of depression but for some reason (mostly the amazing people and support in my life) I can move myself away from the edge, open the blinds, and find my way out the front door.

The sun, the fresh air, the birds, the flowers, the little boy who excitedly waved and shouted hi to me, the friendly dog, the trees, the stream, the helpful sales clerk at the mall, silly texts from a friend.  All these little things cheered me up and remind me I need to keep pushing forward even when I want to hide under the covers.

Share your thoughts...

