My Own Private Motivational Speaker

I haven’t heard anything from any jobs in almost 2 weeks so I’m doing my best to not get discouraged but it’s a challenge.  My writing is pretty reflective of my moods.  The other day I was thinking I needed to really narrow down my blog and focus on a single topic but that’s not me plus the randomness is fun, right?

One day I’m writing about what I’m eating, the next day work outs, the next day I hate everything and am struggling to get out of bed, sometimes it’s all of those things in one day or one post.

It’s an adventure, it’s constantly changing, and it’s my life.

The journey to happiness is certainly not an easy path.  It’s more like a climb up the side of a mountain while someone at the top throws rocks at you…and there’s land mines and bears. Basically, sometimes life is hard but I can’t give up.

I’m beginning to feel like a motivational speaker the way I have to build myself up everyday, plus I have a friend in a similar situation so I try to cheer her up too.  She’s at least working in a bank (she hates it) and doesn’t have to pay rent (living with her parents) but she’s also job searching.  She’s 10 years younger than me so I keep reminding her she has tons of time but when people around her start finding their dream jobs she begins to ask the questions many of us do,
“What’s wrong with me?”
“What am I doing wrong?”
“When are things going to work out for me?”

I find myself asking the same questions all the time but I just work on knowing there’s nothing wrong with me, that I’m doing the best I can right now, and things will work out in their own time.  I had to remind her she’s a bad ass who will find a job doing what she wants to do but right now unfortunately we have to be patient.  Even though I’m almost constantly stressed I’m trying to enjoy this time and stay positive.

I genuinely believe in the power of positive thinking but it becomes so challenging when you’re trying to be positive and nothing works out.   I’ve been trying to pinpoint what keeps me going, what makes me able to drag myself out of be in the morning, what makes me keep trying, what gets me out of the house.  I think I’m just not ready to give up on myself or my life yet because I actually have more positives than negatives in my life right now so I remind myself of them often.  I also fill myself with motivational quotes and positive words.

As my own private motivational speaker one of my favorite motivational sayings actually comes from Disney’s “Finding Nemo” (also one of my favorite movies 😉 ), “Just keep swimming.” I often find myself saying it when I’m feeling discouraged and even keep it on my homemade chalkboard by the front door so I see it every day.  IMG_7038

It’s silly but it’s one of many things that keep me going.  Below that is a little wall hanging my mom gave me for Christmas that says “Until you spread your wings you will have no idea how far you can fly”  I love that quote as well.  I’ve often thought of motivational quotes as cheesy but I know the power of words, sometimes hearing or reading the right words can make all the difference in a person’s life.

If you have any favorite motivational quotes feel free to share.  I’d love to read them.  🙂

One comment

  1. keen peach · April 21, 2015

    Aw yeah, at least you are real. Nothing more uninteresting than people that lead you to believe that they are all hearts and roses all the time. Things will look up. This is just a season. I know they seem like forever. Just keep swimming!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

