Meal Plan Monday

Breakfast is still hit and miss but for the most part the meal plans are working.  I’m getting in at least 2 meals a day plus eating fruit in the morning and all throughout the day so even if I don’t eat a real breakfast I am eating something in the morning.  I need to do up another batch of those Peanut Butter Energy bites…maybe I’ll do that tonight so I’ll have them tomorrow.

I was lacking in some ideas and some energy to do research tonight as you can see by the days I’m having “Mystery Meals”, hopefully between leftovers and this week’s grocery shopping I’ll come up with something.  I plan on grocery shopping on Wednesday so this first part of the week is all about using what I have in the house right now…which isn’t much so creativity is key.

Last night I had spaghetti with ground tofu (slightly burnt but still good) so I’m having leftovers tonight.  Not sure what I’m doing for dinner tomorrow night other than tofu something because that’s what I have on hand right now for a protein.  I’ll check online for some recipes but I’m also open to suggestions 😀

Last week one of the most helpful things I did was bake 2 chicken breasts (simple but delicious, pepper, lemon juice, sprinkle of basil, olive oil) early in the week.  I used the chicken in salad, pasta, and just a few pieces on its’ own one morning when I was feeling hungry and lazy.  I’m finding that more prep=more consistent meals so this week along with my meal plan I planned some prep to help me out.

In the past when I tried meal plans I would go online, research meal plans, and try to take on someone else’s plan or I would try to create a meal plan out of all new recipes.  The problem with both of these options I gave myself unrealistic expectations instead of just building off the foods I was already eating and knew how to cook (seriously, I’m not much of a chef).  My meal plans are nothing fancy, more like meal outlines but I think sometimes the key to successfully changing something is finding what works for you.

My goal with these meal plans is to eat consistently, healthy, and to try at least one new recipe a week, so far it’s working for me 😀

Hope your week is off to a great start!

Wednesday
Bake 2 chicken breasts
Thursday
Cook 1/2 ground sausage (freeze rest for next week)
Friday
Cook 2 ground turkey patties
Cook rest crumbled

Breakfast
M: Eggs
T: Malt-o-meal
W: Cheese Omelet
T: Oatmeal
F: Eggs & sausage
S: Malt-o-meal (before Farmers Market*)
S: Frittata
Lunch
M: Leftovers & salad
T: Leftovers & salad
W: Soup
T: Sandwich
F: Wraps
S: Leftovers
S: Mystery Meal 🙂
Dinner
M: Spaghetti
T: Tofu something
W: Chicken with rice
T: Chicken tacos
F: Veggie pizza
S: Turkey burgers & sweet potato fries
S: Mystery Meal 🙂

*Wrapping up this post and remembered Farmers Market opened this last weekend.  I was at the Renaissance Fair for the magazine but I’m definitely going down there this Saturday, might find the inspiration for my mystery meals 😉

5 comments

  1. miusho · May 4, 2015

    That’s the big problem with those meal plans. You’d need to be something of a chef to use them. Too complicated!
    Maybe if I do it like you, stick with what I know, I can try those things again! Now I just need to learn how to cook properly…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 5, 2015

      Agreed! I found the same thing when I started researching meal plans so I finally decided to just stick with what I know because cooking is not my forte or something I really enjoy so the simpler the better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 5, 2015

        I just buy on instinct and I usually last the week. That is, unless my fiancé decides to cook…..

        Like

  2. keen peach · May 4, 2015

    Looks good! Haha! I like the mystery meal.
    I just followed you again. I know I was following you before and I never unfollowed you. Weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 5, 2015

      I struggled creating my meal plan this week hence the mystery meals 🙂
      I’ve read some posts about that happening and I’m nervous I’ve unintentionally unfollowed people. It’s weird that it happens…but I’m glad you’re following me again 😀

      Like

Share your thoughts...

