My Latest Assignment

I’m nervous.

I agreed to take some pictures of veterans tonight for the magazine but I’m kind of scared because, as strange as it sounds, I don’t have much experience taking pictures of people.  Most of my pictures are squirrels or flowers or trees, objects that can’t talk, so the thought of this assignment makes me a bit anxious.

I think it’s just the fear of the unknown.  I’ve never done anything like this so I don’t know what to expect when I get there tonight.  I’d almost managed to talk myself out of doing it but the only reason I had for not doing it was fear. When she asked me about it I almost said no.
Luckily I’m at a place in my life where I’m trying to conquer my fears.
I’m learning you never know where taking a chance will lead.
I’m learning I’m capable of much more than I think I’m capable of doing.

The place is literally a 6 minute drive (every place in my town is under 10 minutes unless there’s traffic then maybe 15 at the most) so of course I started getting ready 15 minutes ago and the event starts in 2 hours…..so I might be ready a little early but better early than late.

I thought about walking but I didn’t want to arrive all sweaty and didn’t want to walk home in the dark tonight so I decided I would write for a little bit in an attempt to calm myself.  Writing is a good channel for some of my nervous energy plus it usually helps me put things in perspective, reminds me that what I’m doing is 100% within my realm of capabilities and it’s good to face my fears.

Usually when I’m scared of a situation I try to imagine a worse case scenario so for this situation my worst case scenario is (I hope I’m not jinxing myself) something happening to my camera but even if something happens I have my phone as a potential backup.  That actually makes me feel a little better, acknowledging my own personal worst case scenario and the solution.

I’m feeling more relaxed but still nervous so I’ll continue to get ready, think I’m going to have a late dinner tonight, eat a snack for now, then eat when I get home.  I’ll let you guys know tonight or tomorrow how everything goes!  I’m actually starting to feel less nervous and more excited!     🙂

9 comments

  1. jordynashley · May 6, 2015

    I’m sure it went great!! You are so talented!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EpicGran · May 5, 2015

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho · May 5, 2015

    It’s a good situation to see if you like photographing humans or not. 😉
    You can totally do this! 😀

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · May 6, 2015

      Thanks! 🙂 I’ll have an update today on how it went, humans are definitely more challenging than landscapes…more movement and back talk

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 6, 2015

        Yeah, and more complaints about “how awful they look on that picture!”… 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · May 6, 2015

        It was mostly older men and I’m not trying to stereo type but they’re usually not the first to jump in front of the camera…most of the men I know, old or young, would rather hide in the background

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 6, 2015

        That’s such a guy thing, really. 😛 My fiancé doesn’t mind though.. I don’t think I’ve met a guy yet that minds having his photo taken. Hmm..

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

