Cleaning up & Getting in my Steps

This morning I woke up feeling strangely ambitious with a strong desire to clean my bathroom.  Yep, this is gonna be an exciting post 😉

I decided I would skip a couple days at the gym this week to do some deep cleaning in my apartment.  I figured I would work from the back of the apartment forward but I skipped the bedroom because that won’t take too long and chose the bathroom as the room to be cleaned today.

I didn’t feel my usual guilt for skipping the gym because I got in an amazing workout yesterday.  *Funny side story:  There was no one in the weight room so I decided to sneak a couple selfies when this guy came in and gave me the most annoyed look.  I was so embarrassed to be the person in the gym taking selfies 🙄 *  Besides my amazing strength training yesterday I know cleaning house burns some calories.

Most of the cleaning equates to workout moves.  Scrubbing is great for the arms & shoulders.  Croching down to clean then getting back up again is good for the legs.  Stretching to get to tough to reach spots.  It definitely felt like a workout.

I then cleaned myself up to go grocery shopping.  In an attempt to get in more steps I always park toward the back of the parking lot and it’s quickly becoming a habit.  Anybody who reads this and rides with me might want to keep this in mind. Unless I’m in some kind of hurry or the weather is terrible I don’t find myself driving in circles or even driving toward the front to find the closest spot.

My main reason for doing this in the past was because I didn’t want to walk as far, which is terrible when I look back on it now.  I didn’t want to park further away because I didn’t want to walk but the problem is I didn’t have any legitimate reason I didn’t want to walk other than laziness.

It’s nice to look back on the behavior and see how my mindset is starting to shift in a way that’s looking for more activity and giving less excuses as to why I can’t do something.

Tonight I’m going to enjoy an after dinner walk (the featured image is from a couple nights ago).  I find I like to take a walk in the evening.  It’s relaxing and actually makes me tired so I’m all ready to go to bed.  Tomorrow I want to do something outside so I’m either going to pick a new hike, go to Kamiak Butte again (I liked it there), or just jump in the car in the morning and see where the road takes me 😉

4 comments

  1. Sassyfitnesschick · May 7, 2015

    I always park far back… and leave the close spots for the poor people who need them haha 😉 I mean I have all these running stickers and a 50K and don’t wanna look lazy 😛 Unless, it’s totally hideous, awful weather then it’s every man for himself…..

    Like

  2. BabetaRuns · May 7, 2015

    I say… sod the guy in the gym! You should have stayed and asked him to take pictures of you instead if he has a problem with you taking selfies :))))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 7, 2015

      Ha ha! I totally should’ve done that, I’ll have to remember that for next time 🙂

      Like

  3. miusho · May 6, 2015

    I woke up once feeling the need to clean my bathroom.. I tried to ignore it but alas. I cleaned it, top to bottom… But you’re right. Once you stop being lazy, so much things get done!

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts...

