I survived!

Thanks for all the well wishes last night!  You guys are the best! 🙂

I was so nervous and anxious last night I thought I was literally going to make myself sick.  The assignment was talking to veterans at the local American Legion hall and it was a great experience.

When I showed up the writer/editor wasn’t there yet so I boldly walked up to the building (this took some courage) and even though I was expecting to be greeted with a “Who are you?  What are you doing here?”  The gentlemen who greeted me at the door were super friendly plus as they pointed out later they don’t assume anything about anyone, I might have been a veteran looking to attend the meeting.

The piece was about Memorial Day and what it means to veterans.  I think it’ll be a great reminder to people that the day is not all about sales and a long weekend but about remembering the people who served and are currently serving.  I loved hearing about their experiences.

My grandpa has recently started sharing stories about some of his experiences and (I’m not just saying this because he’s my grandpa) he’s lived a truly extraordinary life.  It’s been a life filled with hardships, challenges, and some genuinely scary situations but also positive amazing experiences.  I think sometimes people dismiss senior citizens forgetting they’re still people, just people who have lived longer than you and someday you will be an senior citizen 😀

Anyways, I kind of abandoned my original train of thought and jumped on a completely different train so back to my assignment.  Right now I’m nervously awaiting hearing her feedback about the pictures.  She put her faith in me so I’m scared of disappointing her with these pictures.  I don’t expect the glowing feedback I received from the Renaissance Fair pics but I’m hoping these will work for what she has in mind for the piece.   It was an experience and even though it wan’t my best work I hope it will be good enough.

People pictures are significantly more challenging than my usual subjects.  After doing this I definitely have a greater respect for photographers who do more people-oriented photography like portraits, wedding pictures, etc.
A tree doesn’t care if you take 15 pictures of it to get the right shot but people do.
A flower isn’t going to walk away while you make an adjustment on your camera but people move.
They might move when you’re telling them you “just want to take one more” resulting in a blurry, closed eyes, guy walking away picture or a look that says “I’m done with you and your picture taking”  Those were both great pictures 🙄

It was a challenge.
I was scared.
I was nervous.
The most important parts of the experience are I survived and I learned.

I don’t know if I’ll have the opportunity for more experiences like this and I’m not sure it’s something I want to do in the future but if I do I definitely have some things I would change.  I might have my friends and family be my subjects for now until I feel more comfortable with my ability to take pictures of people.

You never know if you’ll like something unless you try it so I pushed myself to do something outside of my comfort zone and even though I don’t know the final results I’m glad I did it.

2 comments

  1. keen peach · May 6, 2015

    I hate that I missed you were doing this because I didn’t get to wish you luck! I’m glad you had a great experience though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 6, 2015

      No worries 🙂 It just came up over the last couple days so it was kind of last minute. It was a good experience, although I still haven’t heard any feedback from the editor but I know she’s crazy busy trying to put the magazine together.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

