Farmers Market

Last weekend I was at the Renaissance Fair at the same time as the first Farmer’s Market so this weekend it was at the top of my list for things to do this weekend; however, when I was nudged awake this morning by a hungry cat my initial desire was to crawl back into my warm bed.

It was too tempting so that’s exactly what I did…crawled back under the covers but only for about 15 minutes then I urged myself out of bed exclaiming “It’s Farmers’ Market Day!!”

Once on the road I had to pass all the yard sale temptations. (I love yard sales but I keep trying to get rid of stuff to prepare for moving so I don’t need to bring more stuff into my apartment).  I mention often how much I hate finding parking plus farmers’ market here is a popular event so even though it’s a small town it can sometimes be a struggle to find a spot.

Luckily, I don’t mind walking so I had the perfect spot in mind that was only a few blocks away plus it’s nice to walk around downtown.   I didn’t need anything in particular but gave myself $40 to roam.  Unfortunately I bought some of veggies at the store when I went grocery shopping because I managed to space out the fact that I was going to Farmers’ Market 😳

My first find was a basil peach white balsamic vinaigrette, which I’m super excited to try.  I made the rounds, resisting the mini doughnuts even though the smell was drawing me in closer, ignoring many of the other sweet treats and temptations along the way, eventually settling on fresh eggs, face scrub, and new teas (I love tea!)

11128363_946781562028447_1529480292480717188_n 11070497_946781505361786_3276008171566785263_nDid I mention the owls?  The WSU Raptor Club was there with 2 owls.  This one was my favorite! 😀

The Farmers’ Market is one of many things I’ll miss when I move away.  I recognize it’s time for me to move on from this town but I don’t feel any hatred for it.

I have a friend who left this area and proclaims often how much she hates it but I think it just depends on your perception.  She grew up in or near larger cities. I grew up in a one stoplight town (literally and that didn’t happen until I was almost out of high school) where the nearest “big city” was an hour away.  When I was in high school we got a McDonalds and it was a major event.

The city I live in now compared to my hometown is practically a thriving metropolis.  I mean, there’s a WalMart here and 2 McDonalds!   XD

Of course, there are things I don’t enjoy about this city.  I don’t like being in the middle of nowhere.  It’s a college town so it’s tough to meet guys who aren’t either under 25 or already married.  Winters suck.  It’s windy…almost all the time.

Despite the things I hate I will miss this place when I leave.  Farmers’ Market is something I love about this city and one of the many things I will miss when I move away.

Oddly enough, as I find myself getting ready to leave I seem to making new connections all the time and strengthening old ones.  I’ve opened myself up to new experiences plus just having a more positive outlook has allowed me to meet more people and have more fun.  I’m enjoying myself more now than I have in years (of course not having a soul crushing job helps), which just makes it harder when I think about leaving.

I didn’t realize where this post would end up but going to Farmers’ Market this morning really did make me reflect on some of the great memories I’ve had here and how much I will miss it once I leave……well, I think I’ve done enough reflecting for one day.

Despite the sunshine urging me to come out and play I’ll be doing some cleaning and packing some boxes…just in case this next week is my week.

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!

Share your thoughts...

