Progress Report

I was a bit of a slacker last week.
I think I only made it into the gym twice.
It’s interesting how even when you think you have a habit of doing something you feel yourself start to slide back into old habits but recognizing the bad behavior is the first step to turning it around.

My goal is to make it into the gym 4 days this week for strength training.  I want to continue outdoor activities whenever possible because the weather is amazing!   Unfortunately rain is in the forecast for most of next week so I’m planning a hike at Kamiak Butte tomorrow.  That was a good challenging hike and only about 30 minutes away plus I’d like to see if it’s any easier this time around.

One problem I’ve run into this last week is my right ankle is acting up again and my knee has been a bit sore.  When I said I slipped but caught myself on my last hike, I caught myself with my knee….so it’s a bit angry.  I did make it into the gym today and for a 1.5 mile walk outside but I think part of my day will be devoted to ice and ibuprofen.  It’s frustrating when your body seems to rebel against you but I know taking it easy is better than risking more serious injury and long recovery times.

It’s especially frustrating because I’m finally starting to see real progress!  I’ve been taking pictures since January and I’m not quite ready to share progress pics yet (soon) but I will say there’s a difference between then and now.  Checking my measurements I’ve actually lost almost 7″ off my waist, 2″ off my hips, 3″ off my bust, everything else is about the same but I’m starting to see the changes in the mirror and it’s amazing.

The scale is showing me down almost 10lbs.  I struggle with the feeling that as long as I’ve been doing this I should have lost more but I’m noticing the numbers are consistently in a lower range so the weight I’m losing is not simply lost but gone forever! 😀

Slow progress is still progress.

I have to remind myself I’m making long-term changes to improve years of bad habits.
I’m not trying to win any contest.
I’m not trying to impress anyone.
I’m doing this for myself.
I started this lifestyle change because I had to but I’ve continued and will continue because it’s making me happier, healthier, and more confident.

I’m feeling very reflective lately as I realize this might be the month I finally have a big career change.  I’m definitely looking forward to getting back to work with a renewed spirit.  When I first started this journey I was pretty broken and scared but now I’m starting to feel like I have a better sense of self.  I’ve found parts of myself I thought were lost forever plus discovered new things about who I am, who I want in my life, and what I want for my future.

Regret is a natural part of life and I will regret some of my choices during this time but for the most part I’ll remember this transitional period as the time I took to change my life and set myself on a course toward genuine happiness.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: The Revision of Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life
  2. keen peach · May 11, 2015

    That’s amazing progress!!!!! Great job Daisy! So you took a little down time last week, hit it hard this week! Keeo up the good work girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lexilife · May 10, 2015

    Every workout/Hike counts!! Keep it up 🙂
    https://lexilife95.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

