The transition from a coach potato & my daily adventure

I’m at war with myself today because part of me really wants to just stay home and I’m very good at coming up with excuses as to why I should stay home.  What if a potential job calls?  It might rain.  I’m tired.  I don’t feel good.  I have so much to do at home.

Unfortunately I also know if I stay home today I will mostly sit around watching TV, maybe apply for a couple jobs, write a bit, maybe clean some, but mostly do nothing and I’m finding myself working away from that mindset.  I went to the gym and for a walk yesterday, did laundry, packed a couple boxes, cleaned a bit, nothing exciting.  I struggled to sit still through even one episode of a TV show and kept trying to find things to do.

I’m hoping this is a sign I’m genuinely transitioning from a couch potato to……what does one transition into from a couch potato?


I left my thoughts there this morning, shut down my laptop, and threw my stuff in the car.  I still can’t come up with a good metaphor for transitioning from a coach potato into…we’ll just say an active person until I come up with something better (I could google some ideas but I’m not that ambitious).  Looking back at what I wrote this morning the key word was maybe…maybe I’ll do this…maybe I’ll do that but the reality is most of the day would be sitting around watching TV wishing I’d gone out to do something.

So I went out to Kamiak Butte for a hike and it was so nice!  The climb up was still challenging and parts of the trail were rougher than I remember with more rocks to climb over but I actually kind of like those parts.

Kamiak ButteMay 182   Kamiak ButteMay 206   Kamiak ButteMay 219

It’s still a really nice trail with maybe a bit too much traffic today.  As I told one friend “too many people in my nature today” I later realized there was an upside to all the people when I stepped off the trail a bit to let a whole swarm of sorority girls pass I looked up at a tree in front of me to see the elusive woodpecker…okay, maybe they’re not that elusive but I spent a large part of my last hike trying to find one.  I would have been content just seeing one then I was lucky enough he hung around close by so I could snap some amazing pictures.

0003KamiakButter0002KamiakButter

Kamiak ButteMay 347

I was so excited.  Those few moments made the entire day worthwhile.  I truly love seeing all the various wildlife and today there was an abundance of birds, wildflowers, and butterflies.

I actually got myself lost because I stepped off the trail despite the sign saying stay on the trail (I know, I know, I can’t help it, I’m a rebel) then got turned around and lost the trail, which I needed to find to climb back down.  To the left of the sign was something that looked like a little trail and led to an overlook.  I went to the overlook then somehow missed my little trail and ended up wandering down the summit… 🙄

The bright side to this misadventure was when I was climbing back up I spotted this amazing butterfly.  It was one of the biggest I’d seen during the day and actually kept close enough for me to photograph.

0005KamiakButter

This photography session was followed by an enchanted forest moment when the butterfly flew over to me and fluttered around me for several seconds.  It almost landed on my shoulder but instead flew away, still felt like a magical moment.

Overall, it was a pretty amazing day even the part at the end where I power walked because I drank so much water during the hike.  There was just enough foot traffic to keep me from ducking into the woods but if the trail would have been much longer I would have risked flashing some people, ha ha XD

Hope everyone’s week is off to a great start!  I’m going to go enjoy some dinner and figure out my meal plans for the week! 🙂

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Helping Others on Their Journey | Transitions in my Life
  2. EpicGran · May 12, 2015

    Great stuff, life is too short for couch potatoeing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · May 11, 2015

    I can relate to this – some days I wake up and I just feel so unproductive! I have to try and shake it off, otherwise basically nothing will get done that day haha. Love your posts, thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · May 12, 2015

      Today is my at-home productive day but yesterday I just felt like I had to get out and go somewhere.
      Thanks for the kind words and for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. dray0308 · May 11, 2015

    I am very happy for you that you went for a wonderful hike instead of sitting on the sofa!! Birds chirping, nature, fresh air!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

