The Revision of Meal Plan Monday

I’m tweaking my meal plans for right now to just dinner plans.  Lunch is mostly leftovers or soup or salad or sandwich, typical lunch fare, which leads to the breakfast dilemma.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
You burn more calories if you eat breakfast because it speeds up your metabolism.
People who eat breakfast are healthier.
If you don’t eat breakfast you’ll eat more during the day.
These are just a few of the many things I’ve heard over the years about breakfast and the importance of eating breakfast.

I write it down on my meal plans but rarely eat it so I am no longer forcing myself to eat breakfast just because as a person living a healthy lifestyle it’s what I’m supposed to do.

I’m going to try something revolutionary.  I’m going to eat in the mornings if I’m hungry and if I’m not then I won’t.

This morning before I sat down to write I was a bit hungry so I grabbed some almonds, a tangerine, a cup of coffee, and water (I’ve started carrying a water bottle with me everywhere even just running to the store) then I’ll eat lunch in a couple hours.  Yesterday I knew I was going to be out hiking for most of the day and wouldn’t really eat lunch so I ate a chicken sausage patty with a thin slice of Swiss cheese and a fried egg.  Plus I woke up hungry yesterday so I ate breakfast.

Despite the chips that found their way into my house last week (Curse you Cool Ranch Doritos for being one of my cravings) I’ve been doing well with my eating.  Staying busy takes care of the mindless snacking plus now that the chips are gone my snacks are limited to tangerines, apples, peaches, string cheese, and almonds so if I do grab a snack it’s a healthy one.

I’m getting better at understanding when I’m actually hungry, which always sounds weird to say but in the past I was eating just because rather than listening to the cues from my body.  I still don’t have it all figured out but I get a little bit closer with each healthy decision.  Plus as I mention in my progress report, I’m doing this for me so I’m trying to discover what works best for me and my body to be healthy and happy.

All right, now that I’ve said all that on to the dinner plans for the week.

Last night I baked a chicken breast to use for dinner tonight.  I took it out of the oven, put it in a container with no lid, and left it on the counter to cool for a bit before I put it in the fridge.  A few minutes later I hear something sliding on the counter and run in to see James the cat getting ready to knock the container onto the floor.  I didn’t know if he had licked it or eaten part of it so unfortunately into the trash it went and I took another one out to defrost so I can have it for dinner tonight.

I’ll just make sure the cat doesn’t get this one 🙄

T:  Chicken pasta-Baked chicken with spaghetti noodles, spinach, Parmesan cheese, Italian seasonings, olive oil
W:  Sausage & sweet potato fries
T:  Tofu tacos
F:  Baked chicken & sweet potato
S:  Turkey burger w/ no mayo potato salad–I forgot to buy ground turkey last week so I missed my turkey burger so I thought I would throw it onto the menu for this week.  I’m still researching the perfect healthy potato salad recipe but a quick search shows tons of options.
S:  Sausage with rice and veggies

I’ll probably boil up some eggs today for snacks and for breakfast when I feel like it 😉  I bought eggs at the Farmers Market forgetting I still had half a dozen in the fridge so I have plenty of eggs on hand right now but luckily they’re versatile and don’t expire super quick.

These are the dinner plans for the week.  I’m off to apply for jobs and sort through some of the pictures I took yesterday.

Happy Tuesday! 🙂

3 comments

  1. miusho · May 12, 2015

    Cats. Destroyers of many dinners.. And yet, we love them unconditionally…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 12, 2015

      We do and he has destroyed some meals for me…He was probably so confused because I cursed at him then gave him a few little pieces of the chicken. I figured someone should enjoy it

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 12, 2015

        Might as well feed the cat with it, yeah. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

