Social Anxiety or Laziness

My friend sent me a message about a week and a half ago asking if I would help her out by volunteering at a local university graduation selling flowers.  Wanting to help out a friend I said yes even though I have no real connection with the university and 7AM on a Saturday is pretty early.  At 5:30 this morning when my alarm went off I was definitely thinking “Why did I agree to do this?”

Yesterday I was thinking about how I might be able to get out of it because that’s just what I do.  I’m not sure if it’s social anxiety or laziness (probably a combination of both) but I often find myself trying to get out of social situations but I’m trying not to do this as much.  As I described it to someone I’m not going full “Yes Man” (2008 Jim Carrey movie where he challenges himself to say yes to everything) but I am trying to say yes more because my excuses for saying no are limited.  Also, I’m discovering when I say yes I usually have fun.

My most common excuse was working too much and being tired but that excuse is nonexistent so I’m left with “I would rather lay on my couch and watch Orphan Black” or “I’m too busy pretending to be looking for jobs when I’m really playing on social media”.  These excuses don’t work for any situation so I force myself to get up and get out of the house, which I’m finding more often than not is a good idea.

I had a good time today.  Nothing exciting but it did get me out of the house for about half the day.  It was selling flowers to the people who were there for the graduates and I forgot how much I enjoy selling.  I enjoyed working with my friends to try to reach our goal of selling out of all the flowers (the image above is one of the bunches we sold, so pretty!), which we did….okay we gave away one and chipped in to buy the last one but they were all gone 😀

Because we sold out my friend received a bonus which she used to take us out to lunch.  It was delicious and fun.

Days like today always make me wonder why I constantly find myself trying to get out of social situations because most of the time I have fun and enjoy myself more than I would have if I’d talked myself into staying home.  Last week I told my mom we should meet somewhere halfway between us to do something fun but yesterday began planning an excuse to get out of it.  Why?  I have nothing else to do that day and I usually try to plan an adventure each week so why not plan something with someone.

Part of it is I hate driving and the other part is….I don’t know exactly what it is and I might not ever be a social butterfly but as I work on getting out into the world more I also want to work on enjoying some of that exploration time with people I enjoy.

5 comments

  1. miusho · May 16, 2015

    I have that same nasty habit! Trying to get out of being social.. So lame. Going out is usually a lot more fun than staying home!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 16, 2015

      When I go out I almost always have fun but still every time I plan something or I’m invited somewhere I hesitate or accept then try to get out of it. Maybe someday we’ll both get over this nasty habit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 16, 2015

        I just tell myself to shut up and do it which works most of the time. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · May 16, 2015

        I’ve started doing the same thing and it seems to be working so far….We’ll see how it goes. I have plans on Monday so hopefully I can drag myself out of the house

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 16, 2015

        I’ve gotten myself used to the motto of “Don’t think, just do!”, don’t know how or why but I somehow managed to learn sometimes it’s best not to think too much.. It took a while to put it in practice though.

        Like

Share your thoughts...

