When it Rains, it Pours

I received one rejection email today plus two where I was qualified for the position plus one more where I have to answer some essay questions to move onto the next step.  When it comes to life right now I’m just winging it and we’ll see what happens.  I’m finding it to be way more fun than planning 😛

I continue to apply for jobs in the criminal justice and social services fields while also pursuing photography.  Since I started taking pictures I always thought photography was an unrealistic dream because it’s not your typical job but I’m learning it doesn’t hurt to try.

I almost talked myself out of going to the gallery today (because I was nervous) and came up with excuses that I wasn’t ready or maybe I should call first or send her a message on Facebook or the excuse I give so often “I’ll do it tomorrow”  Thankfully I already had my shoes on and had spent 20 minutes fighting with my printer to print out one sheet of rapidly thrown together business cards (which didn’t come out too bad) so today was going to be the day.

It’s a small gallery with local woodworking crafts, metal works, photography, and other art.  This was my first time visiting and I loved it, such a great shop to show the works of local artists.  I’m happy to report she liked my work despite the fact everything was thrown together a bit haphazardly.

This is all so new to me but life is about learning.

She liked the greeting cards I made up and some of the 8 x 10’s although not in the frames.  She said most people like to buy the photos then pick their own frame.  That makes life much easier for me because framing is expensive and my hand painted Goodwill frames are not exactly works of art.

In my crazy I can do anything type of way I told her I could have some greeting cards ready by the end of the week.

One I arrived back home the gravity of what I promised sunk in especially when I began to consider the reality of what all I needed to get done in the next few days.  I immediately wanted to jump in the car and head to the craft store for more greeting card stock but I forced myself to snap out of the frenzy I’d worked myself up into and write a list, what supplies do I need and what do I need to do this week.  I’ll be waiting for an order of those little plastic sleeves you see greeting cards in at craft shows or fairs plus some for the 8 x 10’s.

In the meantime I will be gluing photos to the front of greeting cards, creating some kind of inventory so I can replenish what she sells, and making labels to put on the back of the cards…whew, I’m having a “What have I done?” moment but I think I’m just excited…and also tired and hungry.  I didn’t realize it was dinner time since I’ve been going a million miles a minute since early this morning.

It’s time to take a break from gluing and sorting pictures to enjoy some dinner then maybe a quick walk.  I missed getting out earlier today 😦  Despite my growing to-do list I blocked out a few hours for gym and a long walk tomorrow on a trail close to home that has poppies blooming so should have some great pics to share 🙂

I’m excited about this new opportunity and can’t wait to see what doors it opens for me.

7 comments

  1. BabetaRuns · May 20, 2015

    I know how horrible it is getting these rejection emails!
    Never stop reminding yourself that you WILL find awesome job soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 20, 2015

      Thanks! Rejection emails are so horrible because they try to sound nice but all I read is “We didn’t pick you.” lol
      I just keep putting myself out there and I know something will work out soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · May 19, 2015

    So do we get to see some craft samples? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 20, 2015

      I’ll post some pics of the cards I’m making and next time I’m in the shop I’ll take some pics.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 20, 2015

        Yes! 😀
        Do they resemble the pictures on your instagram? Or is it something else entirely?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · May 21, 2015

        Some are from pictures on instagram, some are older pictures. I’m going to take some pictures of the cards once they’re all packaged and hopefully looking professional. Just waiting for the UPS truck to show up with the rest of the stuff I need.

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 21, 2015

        I wish you lots of good luck! 😀 I’m pretty sure you’ll get somewhere!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

