The Learning Process and a bit of Randomness

I didn’t include any pics of the game yesterday so I included one today.  I thought about bringing my camera to the game but then I run into the struggle of taking pictures versus genuinely being in the moment.  I decided phone pics would be good enough because I just wanted to focus on enjoying the time with my friends.

It was sunny but not too hot, although I am sitting here with my right arm feeling like it’s on fire because I didn’t put enough sunscreen on yesterday.  I’ve been applying aloe vera like crazy to try to cool it down.  I’ve been so active outdoors hats and SPF 85 are my best friends.  In the last few years I’ve learned taking care of my skin is more important than the perfect summer tan.  I’ve learned to accept my paleness but it looks like I might have to learn to accept being a couple shades darker this summer because I’m definitely gonna be outside more this year.

I’m planning a couple good walks this week but I’m trying to stick as close to home as possible because I don’t know how many more long trips my car has left in it.  The car is about 18 years old and it’s been a great car but everything has a lifespan.  I just keep telling it to hang in there until I find a job because as much as I want to I can’t afford a new car plus I don’t know how good the financing will be for an unemployed person….”What’s your income?”  “Nothing”  They might not have tons of faith in my ability to make payments without an income.

I’m working on the photography venture but I’m still applying for other jobs because receiving unemployment has its’ limits so unless my photography skyrockets I need to continue to look.  I decided I will continue to apply for jobs, put effort into pursuing jobs in the field I’m interested in but I’m also going to use my free time to see what I can do with photography. I’m trying to find the balance between pursuing dreams and reality so I feel like I have one foot on the ground while my dreams try to carry me away.

I guess that’s not completely true because the jobs I’ve been applying for are jobs I want and could see myself happily doing.  It would limit my time but I know not matter what happens I’m not going to give up on photography.

I will say pursuing this venture has already been a learning experience as I struggle to find what works and what doesn’t work in a field where I have no experience especially when it comes to social media.  I’m not a complete novice but I’m no expert.  I know enough to get me going then I stumble along on a journey of discovery to iron out all the details.

Commenting, liking, posting, networking, following, etc., etc.  I was debating adding Twitter but I think for now I’m going to stick with Instagram, Facebook, and the blog which already feels like more than enough to get started.  If anything I think I’ll add some work to Etsy but it’ll be a few weeks.

I’m someone who when I think of something I automatically want to do it.  I’m not always good at planning so over the last week I’ve had to slow myself down, be realistic, and don’t bite off more than I can chew.  I have tons of free time but everything about this takes up that time and money.  Sorting photos, editing photos, posting them to different outlets, sending them in to be printed, creating the cards, following up on all the social media, everything takes time.

Plus I still want time to go out to do what I truly enjoy, which is taking pictures.  I’m learning promoting yourself is almost a full time job but the support from everyone has been amazing and drives me to keep going!  Thank you!

2 comments

  1. keen peach · May 25, 2015

    Hey there! I liked your Facebook page but it won’t take me to your Instagram account. What is your Instagram?

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · May 25, 2015

      I was having trouble setting that up so I’ll have to look at that again today. It’s Daisy9979. Thanks for liking my Facebook page! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

