Waiting for the “Someday”

I received an email yesterday showing my FitBit weekly progress report, which showed I walked 8,699 steps 😡

I love/hate my FitBit because lately I’ve been spending most of my time fighting to get it to sync with the app so I can actually see how many steps I’m taking each day.  I finally got it to sync yesterday after deleting the app, reinstalling, and restarting my phone.  I was annoyed but happy to see it update my step count for the week to 62,067.

One of my goals for this week is to try to get in my daily steps more consistently.  I’m usually around 7,000 to 8,000 steps each day so I’d like to start hitting that 10,000 step mark each day.  I’m off to a decent start this week, although Sunday I didn’t even leave my house so I’m surprised it doesn’t show negative steps since all I did was sit at the computer all day.  Yesterday was a good day with 14,409 steps and despite the rain clouds looming in the distance I might head out to the arboretum in a bit.

Despite the fact that my reason for working out and eating healthier is primarily my health I can’t help but celebrate the changes in my body and the weight loss.

My weight in the past has hovered around the same weight but also gradually climbed over the years.  I would stabilize at one weight then find myself determined to not go above that weight but eventually the number would increase, new goals would be set and another declaration to not go above a certain weight.

Many women and men do this, pick a weight and decide you can’t go above that weight and once you do you either put all your energy into getting back to that weight or you do what I did, ignore it.  I ignored it and even though I would never admit it I accepted the extra 2lbs, 5lbs, 10lbs, and on and on.

In some ways I was approaching my weight and health with the same attitude as my career.  When my fairy godmother showed up to give me my amazing career she would also take care of my extra weight 😉  I wanted something to change but I was not really putting in the work to change anything, kind of settling, continuing to wait for the “someday”.
“Someday I’ll eat healthier”
“Someday I’ll work out more consistently”
“Someday I’ll lose this weight”
“Someday I’ll be more active”
“Someday I won’t binge eat”
“Someday I’ll change but I can’t right now because of….Insert long list of excuses here

Even though it’s been slow progress I’m down 12lbs!! 😀

I couldn’t help but jump for joy yesterday when I saw the scale dip down beyond the 10lb weight loss mark putting me 8lbs from having lost 20lbs.  This morning I was up a couple pounds but I didn’t panic because I’ve finally learned weight fluctuates so later today I might be the same or up or back down but the progress is found in the consistently lower numbers.  

I look at working out and eating healthier as a lifestyle change with benefits.  One of those benefits is weight loss.  I hoped instead of focusing all my energy on weight loss if I focused on changing my habits the weight loss would happen naturally and I was right.  It’s been slow but steady and I’m okay with slow.

I’ve been walking and working out at home but struggling to get into the gym and I think part of that is the loss of the schedule plus the nicer weather.  Like my meal plans I’ve been winging it with my daily schedule.  Unfortunately for me winging it means I don’t accomplish as much and tend to gravitate toward the things I really want to do rather than the things I need to get done.

Today the only thing I had scheduled was laundry so when I finished that by 9 I was left to wonder what to do with the rest of my day, which so far has been spent on the computer.  It’s time to step away from the computer and get outside.  This afternoon I’m writing out a schedule for the rest of the week so I can stay on track with my workouts and also accomplish some tasks.

I have so many things to do with the potential photography business, continuing to job search, and still getting out to enjoy life but I find I have less time to do all of those things if I don’t plan my day so tomorrow it’s back to the schedule.

5 comments

  1. Floating Wife · May 27, 2015

    With your fitbit, have you tried rebooting the device itself? I had this trouble where it wouldn’t sync so I rebooted it. I have the fitbit One abs I’ve had to do this twice over the last year.

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · May 27, 2015

      I did and that worked a couple time but didn’t work this last time. The fitbit itself works it’s just the app but *fingers crossed* it’s been working perfectly the last few days 🙂

      Like

  2. keen peach · May 27, 2015

    !2 pounds is AMAZING!!!
    I nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award. The rules are on my post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amandaturner612 · May 26, 2015

    Friend me on fitbit so we can motivate each other! amanda.j.berkey@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

