Idler’s Rest

I’m tired but it’s a good tired.  Last night laying in bed I began to search on my phone for hikes in the area and found a great list I will keep on hand for future reference.  I’ve been to a few of the places but there’s many I haven’t been to and most of them are within an hour or less. As I scanned through the list I saw the name of the road 2 blocks away then realized the place was only about 15 minutes away so that would be the first location to explore, Idler’s Rest.

I had only glanced at the directions but knew it was basically get on this road, go straight until you come to this road, then follow that road until you see the sign (This is why I don’t give people directions, lol) It was like any country road, a bit windy, no lines on the road and at one point I thought I missed the turn because I felt like I’d gone too far then I finally saw the road.

Random side note at the intersections of these two roads was a driveway with brick gates and trees leading up to this giant hill to a house.  I didn’t really see the house but the driveway was beautiful, looked liked something you would see in a movie.  I’ll get a picture next time.

I parked and a family arrived right as I was getting out of the car.  The baby with the family was not in the mood for a hike and protested loudly so I was getting a bit nervous about listening to a screaming baby during my relaxing nature walk.  Thankfully I went on the trail closest to the parking lot while they went to explore the trail that at that time was unknown to me.

0004IdlersRest - CopyThe loop of trails closest to the parking lot was about a 10 minute walk and I was feeling very disappointed as I made my way back to the parking lot.  Once there I pulled out my phone to bring up the map and realized there was another trail also unless that family disappeared there had to be another trail somewhere but I had to find it.

Crossing the road and wandering a bit I came to a sign saying “trails”  I was in the right spot.  I passed the family with a now calm baby who gave me some information about the lack of views but mentioned some side trails I might be able to climb. A few minutes on this trail and I was so much happier than I was on the other side.  I was in the woods.0006IdlersRest

It was quiet except for birds, the wind, and the babbling of a tiny stream.  I was in my happy place and eager to explore.  I stuck to the trail then saw one of the side trails the family mentioned, fairly defined but I would have to push my way through some bushes but I figured might as well go for it.

0002IdlersRestEven though I didn’t go to the gym today I definitely got in my leg workout climbing up that trail.  It was so steep I was almost crawling up at one point but once I reached a certain point I just had to see what I might be able to see at the top.   As usual I was glad I did because it was spectacular.  It’s one of those views that makes me really appreciate the area I live in because it’s beautiful.  0012IdlersRest

Leg workout part two was climbing back down that steep trail because I wasn’t sure if the trail I was on actually looped around or not and the climb up caused me to lose some steam so I didn’t want to end up wandering lost in the woods.

I fell short on my steps today but all the steps I took climbing that hill should have counted for two 😉  It was a good day and because it’s so close I can add this place to my weekly hike rotation.

I’m already checking out the list to figure out where I want to go explore next but I think tomorrow will be a gym day and a long walk around the neighborhood.  I did some strength training at home but need to get into the gym to really do lifting and training. The featured image was actually taken on my way home.  I had to pull over to capture that shot, such a beautiful drive.  Here’s a couple more pics from my trip today.

I can’t believe the week is almost over, even though I’m not working the holiday is definitely making the week fly by!

0001IdlersRest - Copy 0019IdlersRest

4 comments

  1. Sassyfitnesschick · May 30, 2015

    Great pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lovetotrav · May 28, 2015

    Hiking should definitely count for at least 3 x the steps… in my walking world anyways 🙂 Keep at it. Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho · May 27, 2015

    All this pretty.. ❤
    My weeks fly by most of the time.. But my days off.. They feel like they last me a long time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

