Grumpy Bear

My usual “I need to snap out a funk” tricks aren’t working today.  I forced myself out of bed.  I dressed up.  I finished making some more greeting cards this morning, took James the cat to get his claws trimmed (seriously they were out of control), mailed a package I should have mailed a week ago, and dropped off the greeting cards (none of which have sold but I know these things take time).  The rest of my afternoon has been spent trying to write a post and applying for jobs but all I can really think about right now is taking a nap.

Usually I would drag myself out of the house but I tripped on a curb and tweaked my knee a bit this morning 😦  .  It’s not bad but I’m taking it easy so it doesn’t get bad because I really want to go to Farmer’s Market in the morning.  Basically, it’s just one more thing to add to my crummy mood.  I hate these days when I feel so grumpy and I can’t seem to snap myself out of it for some reason.

I tried dancing it out but got annoyed when I couldn’t find a song I really liked.
I tried to play a mindless game on Facebook but got annoyed when I couldn’t pass one stupid level.
I tried to plan a hike for next week but got annoyed because it’s supposed to rain next week.
I tried to clean out one of my closets but just got frustrated and overwhelmed.
I tried becoming my own personal cheerleader reciting things meant to motivate me and shake away the dark cloud hanging around with me today.

“It’s Friday!” “The sun is shining and birds are singing”  “It’s a beautiful day!”  “Everything is going to be alright!”  “You’ll figure things out!” “You will be successful no matter what you decide to do”

This was all to no avail because I still can’t seem to find enough positive energy to really get going and feel excited about today.  Looking back it really hasn’t been a bad day but sometimes a grumpy mood doesn’t need a specific reason to settle in, sometimes you’re just grumpy and irritable.  It happens to even the most positive of people (right?).

I hate to do it so early in the day but for now I might just have to give up on today, accept it as one of those days, find a good movie on Netflix, or simply curl up on the couch for a nap.

What do you do when you’re having a bad day and can’t seem to snap out of it?  Are you always able to overcome a grumpy mood or do you sometimes just give into the grump and be a hermit?

17 comments

  1. eduardolibby · May 30, 2015

    Bed, sleep and have a nice dream of course!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

      No nice dreams that I recall but I did have a good sleep. A thunderstorm woke me up in the wee hours of the morning but otherwise sleep was an intricate part of helping me overcome my grumpiness. Much happier today 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: How I Spent Yesterday… | Transitions in my Life
  3. miusho · May 30, 2015

    I just play games in which I beat things up. If that doesn’t work? Than I hope the day passes fast..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

      Somebody else suggested video games the other days, maybe it’s time to dig my Xbox out of the closet…

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 30, 2015

        It can work very therapeutic. 😀

        Like

      • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

        The more I think it about the more convinced I am that I need some video game time today, it’s been a long time

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · May 30, 2015

        Just watch out you dong get addicted 😀

        Like

      • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

        I think that’s why it’s in the closet right now, lol

        Like

  4. Floating Wife · May 29, 2015

    To be honest, when I’ve had a crap day I need booze to quiet my rage/frustration. So that’s not very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

      Your comment reminded me that I didn’t even think of alcohol which is a good sign for me. I’m 2 days away from the end of my 45 day drinking challenge so I chose to indulge in some down time in front of the TV.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Floating Wife · May 30, 2015

        Well done. That’s making smart decisions and not making backward progress

        Like

  5. lovetotrav · May 29, 2015

    I go the hermit route and tend to watch something on-line or try to read if I can concentrate… or sometimes eat something that is very very crunchy!

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

      I went the hermit route, closed the blinds, and curled up with Netflix for the rest of the afternoon and evening. It was needed, feeling so much better today 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. keen peach · May 29, 2015

    Aw man. I hate those days. I usually just watch TV fit hours on end. It isn’t good for me to be social when I am in those moods haha. Hope you feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · May 30, 2015

      Feeling so much better today! I hid in my apartment watching TV all afternoon then went to bed early. I think just a bit of down time and sleep were needed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

