Sloth-like Sunday

Here’s a confession for Sunday.  I’m still in my pajamas and haven’t left my apartment all day.  It’s been a truly lazy Sunday and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it, actually it’s been a lazy 3 day weekend for me.  Thankfully, as seen in the picture, cats are good with lazy weekends 🐱

I realized this afternoon the partial reason why I’ve been in such a funk the last few days.  Last week I was texting friends, sending pictures, and no one was replying or they would reply after a few hours.  Why?  Because it was a Tuesday and they were at work but nonetheless I was disappointed when I wouldn’t hear back from everyone right away.

I fully recognize it’s a ridiculous thing to be annoyed or disappointed about because it’s not like they were ignoring me, they were working at their jobs like most people are in the middle of the day on a weekday.  To any friends or family reading this post I don’t think you intentionally ignore me (most of the time 😉 ).  I think it just made me feel left out and served as another reminder that I didn’t have a job.  I’ve mentioned before the end of the month is my most emotionally challenging time.

I think these lazy days, actually it’s more like a lazy week and a half, were beneficial.  I edited photos, watched TV, played video games (I’m terrible at video games but it was fun), and ate ice cream.  I had the best of intentions last week to make plans and a schedule for myself but I was a bit of slacker.  I have higher hopes for this week and I’m making plans for both work and play plus it’s the start of a whole new month.  I hope for an interview or something leading me closer to a job but I’m making plans to continue to enjoy my life.

Tomorrow I’m planning gym and a walk in a new place.  There’s another arboretum at the far end and across the street from the one I usually walk out so I’m going to check it out, heard it’s not as impressive but I love exploring new places. Last night I found a new path that basically serves as an extension for my current walking path, a nice paved loop that adds about another mile.  I’ve done alright walking but need to amp up the strength training.

I didn’t make it to the gym at all last week so I’ve made plans to go as often as possible this week to get myself back into the groove.  I’m going to set a goal to get in there at least 4 days starting tomorrow.  I’ve been doing some light strength training at home but I really need to get into the gym plus I’m paying for it so I need to use it.

I’m hoping this is the month I finally make some progress in the job department and I’ve broadened my search range to include areas I was ignoring in the beginning.  I’m even considering a part time job to get me by for now.  I have plans to spend tomorrow afternoon job searching and looking into some new leads plus looking into a local place for a possible volunteer opportunity.

I’m also trying to plan a time sometime this week between all the thunderstorms to head an hour out of town for a hike to some waterfalls.  I’m putting together a workout schedule with walks planned for different areas to mix it up and help keep me on track this week.

Admittedly last week I hit a very negative “what am I doing with my life?” roadblock.  Most of the time I can push through but last week my physical and emotional reaction was to shut down.  Today is the last day I stand behind that roadblock.  It’s a new week and a new month so I’m making plans to push forward 😀

8 comments

  1. miusho · May 31, 2015

    I had no lazy weekend.. It was too hectic.. I haven’t been able to clean my floor like I wanted to. 😦
    And we all need a roadblock in life so we can figure out if we’re going into the right direction or not. So! There’s no need to worry. It might actually be good to get something part-time you get you back in the working groove. Going full-time are full days 5 days a week. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 1, 2015

      Your weekend sounded hectic but fun. I barely left the couch all weekend it felt good to be up and doing stuff today.
      I definitely feel like I need to get back into the working groove so I’m going tomorrow to check out a volunteer opportunity might be something to get me going in that direction

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 1, 2015

        It was alright. I hope I can have a lazy weekend this weekend..
        And I need to get mine back as well. So bored at work. 😦
        What kind of voluntary work will you be looking for? 😮

        Like

      • Daisy9979 · June 2, 2015

        There’s a thrift store that also helps people with recovery and starting over after addiction, prison, or homelessness so I’m hoping to find something with that even just filing paperwork would be something to get me moving toward the working world.

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 2, 2015

        Very true, as long as you keep busy and don’t sit still, turning into a plant..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · June 2, 2015

        I definitely do not want to turn into a plant and I try to keep busy but think I could be busier, wouldn’t be the worst thing to have a few scheduled activities that involve interaction with other people.

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 2, 2015

        Very true. I’m positive you’ll find something! Maybe not entirely to your liking but it’s something. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. keen peach · May 31, 2015

    I love lazy Sundays! I had a lazy Sunday today actually. Yay for a new week! It’s going to be awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

