Creating a Schedule and Cutting Back on Technology

I wrote out a loosely knit plan for the week and will write out more detailed plans in the evening of the day before.  I already know scheduling my time is going to help me be more efficient, the tricky part is getting myself to adhere to the schedule.  I’ve scheduled things at certain times and put time limits on certain activities to help me make better use of my time.

Day one of the schedule went okay.  I was supposed to be at the gym by 9 but I woke up at 6, couldn’t keep my eyes open so I went back to sleep until 8 then just didn’t want to get up.  It took some willpower and even then I was like “Maybe you don’t need to go to the gym today”  I decided if I didn’t go today it would continue to get easier to not go, even though I’m walking a bunch I still need to do strength training.  GardensAgain 003

My motivation was low today but I knew if I could keep with the schedule today it would be easier the rest of the week.  As I started climbing the hill at the arboretum I was still tired and unmotivated but I pushed forward even though my legs were aching.

1ernteaerfMy plan was to check out the other arboretum across the street but I began to make excuses about the impending rain and the fact that I was behind schedule (even though I didn’t care much about the schedule when I was sleeping in).  I ignored my excuses and kept going.  I was glad I did because the other arboretum, though not as flowery and pretty, was beautiful.  It’s like a big piece of forest in the middle of the University of Idaho campus and it was kind of amazing.  I didn’t walk the full trail because it really was getting ready to rain and I was over a mile from my car but I’ll go back that way again.  1INTHEFIELD

Along with creating a schedule I’m also working on addressing my crazy cycle of checking all my social media, email, etc.

It’s out of control!  I’m going to start by focusing on my time in the evening because this really should be my down time, relaxing, getting ready for bed, not checking Instagram every 10 minutes to see if anyone else liked my photo.  I don’t want to turn into that person who is living her life for likes so I see the behavior I try to change the behavior.

These are rules I think are reasonable, rules that I can live up to then I adjust them as I wean away my attachment.

First rule is no laptop use after 7PM.  I don’t always like typing on my phone so I’m less likely to get involved in too much if I’m not on my laptop.

Second rule is no social media after 9PM.  I’d really like to be in bed by this time plus I’m trying to get back into reading so I’m going to be doing more reading less games and Facebook at night.

Third rule is I’m going to do my best to limit my social media and email checks to no less than 2 hours apart and I’ll be setting goals to make that time longer.

I know there’s going to be both sides to this, people who aren’t borderline addicted to technology and social media might see my rules as crazy and people who do use technology all the time might understand the constant attachment and the need to cut that attachment.  I think the schedule is a key component to helping with this because days like today I stayed busy with other tasks so I wasn’t constantly checking social media.

Even though I just put the rules and schedule into place I already had accomplishments.  One was only checking my email every 2 hours.  I’m job searching so I’m constantly checking for any news.  Two was not going onto Facebook for the majority of the day, came home from my walk, ate lunch, then started job searching for a couple hours.  Finished that now it’s writing before dinner.

Now it’s time for a quick Meal Plan Monday post before dinner.  Hope y’all are having a fabulous Monday!  😀

6 comments

  1. miusho · June 1, 2015

    I know that feeling.. I have this problem during morning with my fiancé.. He wakes up and is stuck on his phone. He’s at work. Phone. Home? Phone.
    I’m a bit less worse but close. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 2, 2015

      I’m the same. My morning routine, feed cat, go lay back down and start checking all the apps on my phone…I’m terrible:( I’m trying to break the attachment but I’ve tried and failed before so we’ll see how this attempt goes

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 2, 2015

        I don’t turn on my internet (read: try not to) unless I am done with everything I need to do. It’s hard but sometimes I can do it. 😮

        Like

  2. keen peach · June 1, 2015

    I love your schedule! I find a planning out my day is crucial but I have also come to realize that with a toddler I can’t schedule times because it is almost certain I will go off the time schedule and that makes me nuts haha!
    I like you social media rules so much more than mine! I’m stealing. Good luck! We CAN do this! 😳

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 1, 2015

      I try to keep the time with a bit of wiggle room, like today I was running behind but I scheduled myself for 3 hours of job hunting….I knew I was not going to use all that time so I spent some extra time walking.
      Steal away! 😀 We can do this! I’m determined this time!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life

Share your thoughts...

