Meal Plan Monday

Meal plan Monday is actually on Monday this week!  It’s the little accomplishments in my life that make me happy 😀

I’ve learned I don’t always stick to my meal plans exactly but I usually come pretty close and often it’s all the same meals just on different days.  I know this week I switched Sunday and Wednesday plus I think I just didn’t have dinner one night for some reason…..I think I’d let myself get caught up in a bunch of things then before I knew it, the time was 8:30 at night and I was more tired than hungry.

This week I’m trying to keep the shopping to the bare minimum and wrote out a menu where I have almost everything on hand but should only need under $20 to get the rest.

One of the ways I want to stretch my food dollars is buying a roast to cook in the slow cooker on Saturday.  That way I will have at least 4 days worth of meals.  Also picking up more tofu, it’s inexpensive, good for a long time, a good source of protein, and as I found out last week can be made into a quick meal if you forgot to get something out of the freezer.

M: Pasta with spinach and mushrooms
T: Salmon with spinach
W: Spaghetti with ground turkey
T: Tofu tacos
F: Stir fry with rice
S: French Dip
S: Something with roast leftovers

I knew I would need to keep this short and sweet because I spent so much time on my scheduling post that my scheduled writing time has come to an end.

It’s dinner time, then writing out a plan for tomorrow, maybe uploading some new pictures from today and thinking my DVR is once again almost full so it’s time to either watch the shows or let them go…..actually I just remembered So You Think You Can Dance premieres tonight so that is what I will be doing.  I love that show even though I can’t dance.

It’s like the cooking shows, I can’t cook but I like to watch the people who can XD

Happy Monday!

4 comments

  1. Tony Burgess · June 1, 2015

    Meal plans are important, something we have tried to do, life can get in the way of that though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 1, 2015

      Life does get in the way but I try to keep it simple using things I know how to cook. I’m hoping if I get in the habit of doing it now I’ll be able to keep it up once I get back to work.

      Like

  2. lovetotrav · June 1, 2015

    I am the same…love those kinds of shows that are most enjoyable to watch but not so much to do (or like you say, I can’t do ). I have never scheduled a week ahead of cooking ever… interesting idea. May just have to look into this further.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 1, 2015

      I love all the reality cooking shows especially Top Chef but I’m no cook and actually try to avoid it as much as possible which is why I keep my meal plans so simple.
      I just plan out dinners but it helps me. Even if I don’t cook the exact meal I planned to eat on the exact day I like just having some ideas and ingredients ready to go.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

