The Next Step

I always keep my email open in a tab in case I receive any job related emails and today was no different.  Typing away I look up to see I have a new message so I click it to see the generic e-mail title usually followed by a “Thank you for applying but we don’t like you enough to want to sit down and talk with you.”  I felt my heart sink a bit as I clicked on the e-mail and was actually confused when I read I needed to make an appointment for an interview.

What?!?  It’s not a rejection email but an email inviting me to go talk to people who potentially want to give me a job!  A community corrections officer job, which is the job I got my degree for so I’m beyond excited!

I’m also super nervous, a week away and my stomach is already tied up in knots but I’m calming myself with the knowledge that I have a whole week to prep.  Also, I’m driving over a day early to stay with my best friend then scheduled the interview in the afternoon so I won’t feel rushed or worry about getting lost.

I’m also trying to keep my feet on the ground, being a bit realistic, and recognize this is just an interview but even if this doesn’t result in a job just getting an interview is such a boost for me because I really was having serious doubts in my abilities.

My mind is going a million miles a minute right now thinking about driving over, interview prep, what to wear, checking apartments in the area, everything all at once but I need to focus on right now, get my errands done, and then start putting together a plan.

Make a list of what I need to get done over the next week before I go but right now I’m just so excited and relieved to be moving forward!  😀

10 comments

  1. Pingback: From Quote to Real Life: The Gift of Travel | four camels and a coffee to go
  2. Michael · June 10, 2015

    I wish you good luck. I have applied for many jobs since last two months but am not yet successful just to secure a first interview. There might be something wrong with my resume.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 11, 2015

      Thanks! It’s tough out there looking for jobs. I’ve been applying for jobs since January and this is my first interview but I’ve been mostly applying to government and state jobs. The process for those takes forever!
      The job I’m interviewing for next week I applied for in the beginning of April so it took over 2 months to get to an interview 😮
      Maybe have a friend or family member look over your resume, sometimes an outside opinion can help see things you might miss. Hang in there! I wish you the best of luck in your search! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lovetotrav · June 10, 2015

    I am so excited for you. This is an area that has always interested me too. I have my fingers crossed for you. Good luck… the week will either go slowly or incredibly quickly. At least you have time to prepare.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 10, 2015

      Thank you! I was so nervous the interview times were going to be this week, it’s also a 6 hour drive from me so definitely nice to have time to prepare.
      I also got a call today about another interview for a position I’m not as interested in but it’s here in town and it’ll be good practice. Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen · June 10, 2015

    That’s fantastic! I wish you luck on your interview! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

