Interview Prep on the Trail

Yesterday after I set up the interview for next week I finally made myself get out the house to run errands even though my mind was going a million miles a minute and my nerves were already settling into the pit of my stomach.  As I was putting my groceries in the car I get a phone call.

I applied for a part time job with the Goodwill but they have a full time store manager position open and wanted me to interview.  I don’t have much interest in the position because I it would be going back to being a retail store manager, which I kind of want to avoid but I decided to set up an interview.

I feel kind of guilty interviewing when I don’t have a ton of interest in the job but I didn’t quite know how to say no and I was also standing in a grocery store parking lot so I was a bit distracted.  I set up the interview and considered cancelling but I think I’ll go through with it at the least hear about the job and also it will be good interview practice for my other interview.

My mind has been swirling with what’s going to happen next, what I need to do to prepare, figuring out the logistics for traveling to the interview but in the midst of all the chaos in my mind I decide the best way to calm myself is a nice, long walk.

I’d already planned this walk but in light of the interview almost decided not to go but then I said out loud “You’re going to cancel your walk because you have an interview in a week”….. 😕  That didn’t make any sense so I got myself up and out the door this morning (only about an hour later than planned).

There’s a really amazing series of trails around here, you could walk, run, rollerblade, or ride your bike along this almost 30 mile system of trails.  Part of the trail is in Washington because we’re right on the border so it gives you a chance to visit two states 🙂  Today I stuck to the Idaho side, driving about 10 miles from my apartment to check out part of the trail I’d never been on known as Bear Creek Canyon trail.

You have to walk at least a mile from where I parked to get to this trail.  Thank you to the randomly nice lady who gave me directions and also suggested I check out the second hand store.  I had to skip that for today.  I love thrift stores and probably would’ve ended up doing more shopping than walking so I walked past it but I’m gonna go back.

The trail is gravel so it definitely felt more challenging than walking on the paved trail plus I thought it was a more wooded area but the amount of shade on the trail is minimal.  I knew the trail was 4 miles total, one way and I saw on the map there was a picnic bench at the 2 mile mark so that was my goal, picnic bench.  By the time I made it to the picnic bench the sun was high in the sky (I really do need to get out the door earlier) and it felt so much hotter than the 83 degrees it showed on my phone.

Just as I was ready to turn around I saw the picnic bench

Just as I was ready to turn around I saw the picnic bench

I did reach a point on the way back where I stopped in a shady spot to drink more water and didn’t think I could get moving again because my legs were so tired.  The good news/bad news when you’re out on a trail is there’s not usually an easy way out (unless there’s a real emergency) so your only option really is to push forward or I guess you could just sit down and give up but even if you do that eventually you’re going to have to walk.  Bear Creek Canyon 079

I definitely pushed myself today, walking about 6 miles! 😮  This is a screen shot from my FitBit when I got home.

IMG_8500

I was so hot and tired the cool shower I took when I got home was the greatest shower ever, lol.  Even though I still have piles of things to get done today, plus now I’m tired and sore, I’m happy I spent some time outside and I’m glad I pushed myself.  I like to show myself I can do more physically than I think I’m capable of doing.  I’m going to keep pushing myself to do more miles, working my way toward 10 miles one mile at a time then continuing to go further.

Now it’s time to spend some time continuing my interview prep before dinner!  I will say I did spend some of my time walking doing interview prep to distract myself from the heat and sore legs, just walking along talking to myself about my strengths and weaknesses.  I consider it a sign of my ability to multi-task, get in a workout and do interview prep at the same time XD

4 comments

  1. miusho · June 11, 2015

    Also! Before I forget! Congrats on the interview for a job you’re not interested in. 😛 You’re right. It’s good practice!

    Like

    • Daisy9979 · June 12, 2015

      Thanks! 😛 I know the practice will be good but I definitely feel guilty because I’ve been a manager trying to hire people so I feel bad going to an interview for a job I don’t want but I need the interview experience…I just have to set my guilt aside, I’m definitely not the first person to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 12, 2015

        Eh, if they offer you a job you can always say you found something with better options. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · June 11, 2015

    And here I am, wondering how my step counter won’t go over 3k..

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

