Talking to Myself & Pampering Myself

My mind right now is consumed with potential interview questions.  I’m basically talking to myself all day (well, more than usual) asking myself what I would do if an offender became hostile during an appointment or why I have such a gap in my employment or what would I do if offender showed up late for an appointment or what is my weakness or what will be the most challenging part of the job and on and on it goes…..

I’m kind of shutting out everything else to prepare for these interviews but of course I still have to write because if not my head would probably explode from not being able to express all that’s going on right now.  I know it’s just one (well 2) interviews but it’s for a job I really want, found out today it’s a panel interview (which I’ve never done), and it’s the job I’ve wanted for the past 5-6 years so in my world it’s a big deal.

Some of my friends don’t understand why I want to go into the position of a community corrections officer but oddly I’ve known since high school I wanted to work with criminals; however, somewhere along the way my plans were derailed.  I’m fascinated by behavior, what compels people toward certain behavior, and what might help deter them from certain behaviors.  It’s a job with an opportunity to not only help someone potentially change his or her life but also benefit the community by monitoring offenders and hopefully helping them to become productive, law-abiding members of society.

Okay, obviously the interview is on the forefront of my mind and I think I just spewed out an answer to some type of question in that last paragraph.  I was having moments where I was questioning if I still wanted to go this route but when I considered everything and reminded myself why I want to go into this field I know the interview is a great opportunity.  I also have to remind myself it is just an interview and no guarantee of a job.  Feet on the ground.

Moving on….

Today I did set aside some time this morning for pampering because I think that’s important.  I paid 10$ last week to get my bangs trimmed and the stylist is so good it was like a new haircut, he’s amazing totally worth the 10$ but the rest of my pampering is at home and free.

Tweezing the eyebrows, pedicure, manicure, facial scrub, nice long shower, leave-in conditioner, then off for some interview clothes shopping.  All the primping might be unnecessary but my belief is when you look good, you feel good and it boosts your confidence.  I’m going to study and prep like crazy so I’m prepared when I go in but I also want to look good 😀

I think that’s all I got for now.  My weekend is going to be filled with interview questions and cleaning, although I might sneak off to the Farmer’s Market tomorrow morning to pick up some eggs and raspberries.  I’m going to be making the BBQ Tofu Sandwich from this week’s Meal Plan Monday so I’ll let you guys know how that goes.

Hope your weekend is off to a great start!

4 comments

  1. miusho · June 12, 2015

    2 interviews?? 😮 Wow, things are starting to roll! Good luck on your interview, I just know you can do it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 12, 2015

      Thank you! I already can’t wait for it to be over, I feel so stressed out about it but I’m also super excited!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 13, 2015

        I can totally relate! 😀 I’m rooting for you! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lovetotrav · June 12, 2015

    I have had my fair share of panel interviews.. and they are not too bad. Just remember to look each of them in the eyes as you answer. There is a tendency to respond to the person who asked the question and maybe forget the others…. you probably know that but thought I would just add it… in case. You are going to be very ready for this interview. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts...

